The Black Blob

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I have no idea what this is; could be neatly arranged insect or snail eggs, or the house of a larva, or artfully deposited excrement, or the work of somebody with a 3D printer taking the piss out of entomologists:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/100s

Does anyone have an idea what it could be, or will it forever remain one of Nature's Great Mysteries?

Sort:  

Looks a lot like an egg case for our Praying Mantis here. They are light brown, but very similar in 'nature'. The striations are a bit more pronounced, as in deeper grooves. The ones' I see are about 25-35 mm long and about 20 wide. Maybe? Do you have those odd little creatures in your neck of the woods? Suppose you could put it in a jar, and have it hatch in your kitchen, then let it go in the same place. Then again, it might imprint on you forever...that'd be fun.

No Praying Mantises here, but I'll check on their cousins, thanks! And no, I don't want a group of those following me around, Praying Mantises Whisperer doesn't sound good.

You WOULD be the talk of the town, as you wander through to market.
(Make sure to put out an 'answer post' if you do find out. We'd love to hear).

it will forever remain a mystery!))) personally for me. at first I thought it was a snail variety. or parasites. but who knows...

No idea really but it reminds me of some kind of egg case or ootheca.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Climbing to the top!

It is really interesting creature if it is a creature my friend... :) it looks like an alien :)

Have a nice day my friend...:)

It looks like the larva stage of snail 😕

I don't know what is this, but this is the perfect click

Two slugs mating. ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49