SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry: The Blues

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is a photo of the inside of a marsh gentian (Gentiana pneumonanthe):


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO400, f8, 1/40s

I initially made a photo where the centre bits were sharp as well, but that distracted too much from the petals and their colour and pattern, so I decided on reducing the depth of field and made this one. It looks better to me for sitting back and enjoying the colour.

Some bonus pictures, not for the challenge; this is a gentian from a more common perpective:


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO200, f6.3, 1/200s

These gentians are found near marshes and peat bogs, often accompanied by heather. There are usually several flowers per stem:


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/125s

I was also lucky enough to find this one in the local peatbog, the very rare white gentian, a variety of the same species:


Olympus XZ-1, 80mm, ISO100, f8, 1/400s

Marsh gentians have an associated species of butterfly, the alcon blue (Phengaris alcon); these butterflies only lay eggs on gentians. I'm still hunting for a photo of one of those, but while you wait, here's a related species, the silver-studded blue (Plebejus argus), that forages on the heather surrounding the gentians:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/200s

Another rare species I found near gentians is this bog-rosemary (Andromeda polifolia):


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO400, f8, 1/80s

It belongs in the heather family (Ericaceae) and is only found in peat bogs.

The same goes for this rare marsh violet (Viola palustris):


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/100s

That's enough flowers for one day 8-). Edit: follow up: orchids.

Sort:  

I really like the focus on the dots within the flower -- and then it's all the more impressive seeing the whole flower. That sure was a long shot down into the flower! That must be a great peatbog, to have some of those rare flowers.

It is. I just posted some more, orchids this time.

Thanks. Those were great orchids and photos! Neat peat bog!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow, amazing shots. Hard to pick a favorite but number 2 got my attention.

Thanks! I added a violet at the bottom, maybe you like that one as well.

@ocrdu holy moly clear shots with extra information
#til gentians
you've been spending much time near or in the marsh ?
I can't blame you - so much life in there
why didn't you use the one with the butterfly on it
@jamtaylor said it's allowed to have other elements in it :)

I regularly walk in and around the local peat bog, the Aamsveen. No flowers there yet, though.

Yes, I know, but I thought that would be pushing "other elements" a bit far 8-).

@ocrdu .. I want to join, too as I love flowers freaking much but I can't find my other files hahaha
Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11