Scary Bugger

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

This scary bug is a parasitoid wasp in the Ichneumonidae family, having a quiet lunch:

SluipwespLBP20181.jpg


There are a great many species of these, and they are hard to tell apart, but I think this one is a Gasteruption jaculator.

SluipwespLBP20182.jpg

They lay eggs on the larvae of solitary bees using the long drill (ovipositor) you see in the photos. After hatching, the wasp's larva consumes its still living host.

They can't sting or use poison like regular wasps, but the females will use their ovipositor in self-defense when cornered, and getting stung with it hurts like fuck smarts a bit.

All in all, not the most pleasant of insects, especially if you like bees.


Here's an older photo of this species, in which it seems to be looking at me quizzingly:

GasteruptionJaculator.jpg

I escaped unharmed.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-07T12:48:27
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1234.02/1600.00
Total Photos: 178
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

what a beautiful capture! Amazing snap! I'm so amazed by your photography!

That is some antenna whip.

I escaped unharmed.

yeah. But did the wasp @ocrdu. I hope you totally flattened it! 😂

So, I take it you don't like wasps much? Just guessing 8-).

I'm not keen on wasps generally @ocrdu but those particular ones look horrendous. 😱

Don't worry, these are not aggressive, they avoid humans, and they have no poison. They only use the long egg-laying bit in self defense when they feel cornered.

Smetimes I see some of them here and I also met a female, because I perfectly remember she hurted me and, argh, it was not an happy meeting ^_^

They rarely use the long egg-laying bit in defense, but when they do ...

Not pleasant, no 8-).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55