Resting Hunter

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

This is a four-spotted chaser (Libellula quadrimaculata), viervlek in Dutch, I saw the other day.

These are fairly easy to photograph, because when you disturb them, all you have to do is take a step back and they will usually return to the same perch.

ViervlekGrasVP2018.jpg

It looks a bit more orange than usual, because the photo was taken during sunset, and I chose not to correct the white balance.

A few older photos of this species:

JagendeViervlekAV2.jpg

ViervlekArmV2.jpg

ViervlekAV42.jpg

As far as I know, this is the only species of dragonfly in The Netherlands that has two black spots (pterostigmata) on each wing, making it fairly easy to identify.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-15T11:49:54
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1169.02/1600.00
Total Photos: 168
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello.
In my language name of halicopter :p this dragonfly name halicopter

So nice Libellula!!! Thanks for the advice to take a pic of him (or her ^_^), every time I try to take some pics of dragonflies they are always faster than me :D

Not all species return to the same place; some never even seem to land. Just try whispering to them ... 8-)

Great shots, can even see the fuzz on it's body.

Amazing colours. I can't tell how many countless times a bug, bird, flower some form of nature has just offered up the best colour palette for a painting. Well done Nature and well done you good photos.

Natura artis magistra, or some such. Colours never seem to clash in nature.

Chose not or could not?

I demand the truth behind this charade of orange

How dare you, you Weegie you. I'm a very accomplished white balancer, I'll have you know.

Oh I believe you...

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

An exceedingly cooperative bug. That third shot should be in 'Sublime Sunday', as it is even more amazing than your usual quality of photo fare (as in very high). I like leaving the sunlight addition at the end of day. After all, that IS what was going on whilst there. Flying bugs away.

Yes, I prefer photos to show what was there instead of what I wanted to be there.

What is "Sublime Sunday"?

Linda imagen de ese brinca pozo .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75