Peat-bog orchids

in #photography7 years ago

The orchids on the edge of the peat bog called Aamsveen in The Netherlands are in full bloom now:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f8, 1/500s

These are common spotted orchids (Dactylorhiza maculata), and they used to grow here in abundance.

Their number has been dwindling over the last years, however, and the other species of orchids that used to grow here have disappeared. This photo shows all there were, if you include the ones in the background:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f8, 1/100s

Still, they attracted a visitor, a silver-studded blue (Plebejus argus), usually found on heather:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f8, 1/800s

There are fewer and fewer of these orchids here, but they are still beautiful.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Nature nature and nature....@ocrdu these pics are really apprreciated in the propect of steemit natural post. You artistic acumen is widely ranged in various dexerity of life. These pics touches my heart and soul too. Really very very nice captions.....

Thank you! 8-)

Incredible! Never seen a butterfly like that.

More about this butterfly in the next post.

Thank you. Beautiful as

Prachtig! I adore the pic with the butterfly!

Dank je! Meer over die vlinder in de volgende post.

Ah top - tag me dan mis ik m niet....
?

awesome ! your posts about nature give me goosebumps <3
I m in love with the color of these orchids. And yes butterflies are always love <3
upvoted and restemed! :)

Enjoying and learning a lot from your photography.
Would love to be followed back :)

ohhh the last picture really caught my eye :-)
that's a nice one, agreed fully with @dutchess
have my upvote :-)

Nice and the good news is the butterflies like them. 👍

Nice orchids. What kind is that? I like orchids and other types of flowers

Dactylorhiza maculata.

I must have missed that one! Those are really nice!

(but now that I saw it I think I did see some butterflies on orchids here, but sure if it was you or someone else post).

Yup! I even commented it.
I knew I saw it... I am not mad yet :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48