Tiny blue butterfly revisited

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I went back to the peat bog yesterday to see if there were any more of the silver-studded blues (Plebejus argus) I posted about before.

To my surprise, I saw even less, which means just the one. This is not a good sign; it seems these little blue butterflies aren't doing at all well here.

These little butterflies have a wing span of only 30mm (1.2"), so when they sit with their wings closed they are only about 15mm (0.6") high and surprisingly difficult to spot until they reveal the blue top-side of their wings. When you know what to look for, they can easily be counted, though.

Anyway, I did manage to get some photos, but they are all photos of the same individual. Here's the first shot; it is sitting on heather, as they usually do, hence the Dutch name of heideblauwtje ("small heather blue"):


Olympus Stylus 1s, 100mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/1000s

Here's the same one in the shade, which changes its colours a bit. It let me get really close, notice the focal length:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO160, f8, 1/160s

They prefer to eat from heather as well:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 100mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/800s

Not all types of heather growing here were in bloom yet, maybe that is why it decided to have a go at the nearby orchids; it really stuck its face in:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f8, 1/500s

I hope more show up over the next few days.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Responsive to feedback... Thanks!

I guess that butterfly wasn't photoshopped after all ;)

I like this photo....😉

Glad you like it! 8-)

Beautiful butterfly! And it is so amazing to see it on a wild orchid.
Its like 2in1 :D

Thanks! I was keeping my fingers crossed for it to land there 8-).

Haha it worked :D

Beautiful...& great shot:))

AMAZING!

looks great!

Nice Photo's!!

Thank you.

Mesmerizing beauty!
i m in love with the butterfly with all my heart <3
I must say your are an amazing photographer. :)

Thank you! Don't make me blush now! 8-)

wow such beautiful pictures of a wonderful species :) so sad that you see less of them :/

Yes. It is either the habitat that is the problem, or the ant species they need is almost gone.

From Wikipedia: "The larvae have a close relationship with ants and produce a honeydew-like liquid to feed them. In return the ants will protect the larvae from predators. The black ants Lasius niger and Lasius alienus are the two most commonly associated ant species [my addition: Lasius platythorax in this particular habitat]. In some European countries ants have been seen carrying the larvae. Pupation takes place near, and often inside, ant nests, where they continue to secrete honeydew until the butterfly emerges."

I guess it will be a mixture of both factors (and probably even more factors)... However habitat lose is for sure a big problem for many species :/

Beautiful shots! Resteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44