Old shed

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Walking in the countryside near Lonneker, The Netherlands, I spotted this old shed. From its construction I can tell it's old, but what I can't tell is why it wasn't removed. Somebody even went through the trouble of making a fence around it. Anyway, I love these casual remnants of past times:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 85mm, ISO800, f4, 1/100s

You can tell from the photo how it was built: an oak beam structure, the open areas filled with woven willow withies. These would have been sealed with loam, but that hasn't survived.

A photo from the side:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 75mm, ISO800, f4, 1/50s

I have no idea what this shed was once used for, but I do like looking at such things and ponder.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

mooi!
zo onvoorstelbaar mooi - die foto!

That's a pretty substantial little structure! It shows how important a good roof is, lol. It is surprising that they haven't at least removed the fence. There must not be others around that are similar. Old farm mysteries! : )

Resteemed and followed, these are very interesting

Thank you. I have accumulated quite a few photos of old and/or derilict buildings, I'm considering doing a repost of all of them in a single post.

Very cool, I also really like photographing old structures like that, nice job!!!

Great photo's!

I do love abandoned buildings, always makes me wonder why they were left to rot?

Thanks! I don't know why they are just left there, but I know of one such sheds that had been built by somebody's great-great-grandfather, and he couldn't bring himself to removing it, even though it was in the way.

I love these kinds of things. Maybe the owner of the land likes it too much to take it down :-)

Let's hope so!

Cool. It looks like you would have made a great guide for my bicycle ride. I was just a few 100 metres from this location.

Next time, bring a side cart!

I already have a trailer. Plans are for August September 2017

Put a nice, comfy seat in the trailer, and I'll show you around 8-).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05