Old Dutch farm house in the snow

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

It snowed again!

Here's a photo of the old farm house standing next to where the old farming equipment I posted about yesterday stands on display. It is called Lammerinkswönner:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 33mm, ISO100, f2.8, 1/200s

This farm house is of the type locally known as lös hoes meaning open house; people and cattle lived under one roof. It's a very old type of farm house typical for the region, a variation of the Low German House. The interior has been restaured to its original state.

Here's a colour version:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 33mm, ISO100, f2.8, 1/200s

It is built with a structure of oak beams, filled in with either straw and clay or bricks. The orange parts of the wall on the side are clay on straw; originally, all the walls would have been like that. Bricks were expensive in the day and the clay-on-straw parts would have been replaced by bricks as they became available, section after section.

This photo of the door shows some of the construction:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f2.8, 1/80s

The same goes for the roof; originally thatched, but covered in tiles as soon as the farmer could afford them. For the Dutch: once the whole roof was covered in tiles, the farmer would be "onder de pannen", as he didn't have to spend any more money on his house.

Finally, a notice for @englishtchrivy: the kale is in the lower, right-hand corner of the photo of the farm house, properly frozen and ready for eating!

Two bonus pictures of old Dutch farms I posted some time ago:

At Epse, The Netherlands:

The Bommelas:

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's great to see living history photos of other contrary's! I love the shot of the door!
Up voted and resteemed!

Those are very interesting! I am a carpenter, and I love designing and building things. I really like the last (bottom) home -- very rustic!

It was built single-handedly by a local for himself and his family in 1840.
If you want a carpenting challenge, try recreating the cogwheels and mechanisms of a wind or water mill!

I can't reply to your most recent reply, because I guess the string is getting too long.
That's incredible that you do genealogy, because my mother and aunts do, too. They have traced our family back several centuries. That's how I know we have German and Dutch roots. My aunts actually take trips to Europe to visit our ancestors' home towns, burial sites, and so on. Heimstra, or maybe Heemstra is our Dutch family name. I think Vogel is the German family name. I would have to verify that with mom. Ridpath is another name in our ancestry. I should have listened to mom all these years when she was telling me all of this information. She has it all accurately recorded, though.

Carpenters were far more skilled back then. Every homesteader had to know architecture, engineering, and many other things.

I think there are drawings for building a lös hoes; these Saxon farm houses all have the same basic structure of oak beams, the rest was improvised.

We have some old barns here in Iowa (United States) built by European immigrants over a century ago, and they are still standing strong. I have German and Dutch ancestry. Maybe that's why I like to build!

On a side note: I am also a genealogical researcher, if your Dutch family hails from the region filled with blue blobs here I could most probably tell you something about your ancestors.

Heimstra, Hiemstra, Heemstra all sound Frisian to me. Do your ancestors come from one of the Dutch provinces of Friesland, Groningen or (the North of) Holland?

Yes, Friesland, and Hiemstra is the proper spelling. I asked Mom last evening. She mentioned some specific towns, as well, but I do not recall their names at present, except one called Blessum.

Not only are these very beautiful pictures, but the information was also interesting and well-written :) Was the second floor used for storing food, or did it have some other purpose?

It was used for storing the harvests, yes.

Ah, ok. Thanks for the answer :) The high roofing looks really cool!

Wow, I first thought the black and white picture was the colored one! I was thinking What a beautiful bricks :D
Well, these are beautiful pictures. Makes me wonder if I should take a little detour if I visit around those parts of the country.

The farm house at the top sits in a park in Enschede: the Ledeboerpark. It's an unusual park; basically, it's a large stretch of old countryside they put a fence around. People still live there in the small farms, and there is still some old-school farming going on.

That sounds pretty interesting. I'll have to remember that next time I visit Enschede. I've lived there for half a year, but the only park I've ever visited was Volkspark.
Thank you for the information.

Thank you.

@ocrdu yes, it did.
Here, too but not much ^ ^
I hope it snows harder tonight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59149.53
ETH 2749.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29