Lazy Hunters

in #photography7 years ago

Some dragonflies hunt while flying, but many species prefer to sit in the sun and wait for prey to come close.

The latter are much easier to photograph, and even when you startle them, they will usually return to the same perch. They are great photo models:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 200mm, ISO100, f8, 1/250s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f6.3, 1/640s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f2.8, 1/500s

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

They are quite beautiful to watch-- gliding and then suddenly diving; sometimes you can hear their wings. I remember the largest ones from Denmark were green and blue on the body...

Like this?

Nice pictures!

@ocrdu the Dragonfly whisperer.

very nice, so detailed photo!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 29 December 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

One of the more interesting insects, that i adore. They look interesting, hunt interesting and the whole concept of dragonfly is interesting :) Nature has amazing ways of creating, you make nice shots of it :)

Thank you.

Nice photos)))
Good work)

How do you manage to catch this beauty so close? Great!

By moving very slowly 8-).

I love your dragonfly photos!! Wow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81