Having a look at what all the fuss is about

in #photography7 years ago

This (female) black-tailed skimmer (Orthetrum cancellatum) landed next to me when I was taking photos of the silver-studded blues that had taken possession of the heather.

It was probably attracted by all the movement, but it didn't attack the butterflies. It did study things intently, though:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f8, 1/320s

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

I was surrounded by newly born dragonflies today, but couldn't shoot a single one - they were tiny and had no idea what they were doing, basically flying around, hitting everything in sight.

That's really strange for dragonflies. Have you been giving them wine?

I... well... I was a bit sweaty. :D

But really, they were roughly 3-4 centimeters long, bright blue, and kept hitting a wall I was walking along. Btw, this wall surrounds a big lake, where some unique species of birds live - I couldn't catch any of them with my 105mm... I guess I need some huge expensive beast. Or an inflatable duck, which can carry me closer to the birds.

Inflatable ducks of that size also tend to disturb most birds. I think.

I have never seen damselflies or dragonflies hit walls. Really, I haven't. They have good eyesight and are great flyers. I blame your sweat.

Might explain why the paint on a couple of buttons on the back of my camera is starting to wear off.

I believe they may have the same problem as bees - they fly low and any wall is a considerable obstacle (I do believe bees don't fly higher than three meters).

Beautiful.

Thank you.

She was probably full :P

i'm not sure they ever are ...

Whoa! Really beautiful.

Beautiful Golden dragonfly. Thanks for showing @ocrdu

My pleasure.

Those close up photographs of insects are so fascinating.
This one looks great!

Thank you.

Excellent shot @ocrdu!

I like the angle of the grass and fly.

Oh, nice! Very cool shot! And I know how hard is to catch a dragonfly on camera si they are always hard to focus as they are rarely still :)

Thanks! Some species often return to the same place after flying off, I like those, it makes things easier 8-).

Hehe true, this one especially...the blue ones are really hard to catch on photo :D

Very Cool Shot :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50