Going Up, Going Down

in #photography6 years ago

As I have said before, I'm not much of a bird photographer, not good at it, and I don't carry the long lenses that you sometimes need.

Still, when a bird gets close enough, I can't resist, and that's how this mediocre shot came to be:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO1600, f5.6, 1/160s</sup

It's a wood nuthatch (Sitta europaea), boomklevertje in Dutch. It's the only bird (in The Netherlands) that can walk both up and down a tree, making it easy to identify from a distance.

Other tree-walking birds, like treecreepers and woodpeckers, can only walk up and have to fly to get off the tree again, in the sort of situations where cats can only hope somebody calls the fire brigade so save them, because they're stupid.

Another wildly informative post! Also nice, amasing, great, good, and beutiful, I know, so you don't have to tell me in the comments.

Sort:  

Nice catch....I sometimes see them in the trees around my house....I didn't however know, which one was able to walk down anymore....thanks for refreshing my memory ;)

Call it mediocre if you must, but I like it! Also, good info about it. Very cool creature!

And great fun to watch, especially when there are a few nervously running up and down. Added bonus: they're not scary like snakes 8-).

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Is quite good looking at this God creature.
This is beautiful and I love it. One thing is certain that am learning from you guys everyday, like what @papa-pepper called it Mediocre.
@ocrdu good job you have here and I just followed you new

Wish I'd taken it as I've never seen a Nuthatch. I've seen treecreepers and woodpeckers but have never managed to photograph those either.

Woodpeckers are are real pain to find and photograph. I managed a passable photo of Dendrocopos major and a so-so photo of a Dryocopus martius. You hear them, but can't spot them. When you spot them, they move behind the tree. Sigh. Maybe with a very long lens it is easier.

Beautiful Photo. It's always amazing to me how their little claws can stay ahold of the tree and climb it even with no branches.

I expect your upvot

LOL. OH MY GOODNESS!!! This has cracked me up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81