Digging bees on a sandy road

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Mining bees

On one of my walks, I noticed some bees digging in the ground on the edge of a sandy road. I never saw this up close before, and I also had a hard time finding out their species, but I did: they are gray-backed mining-bees (Andrena vaga). The genus Andrena contains over 1300 species, 600 in Europe alone!

These are solitary bees, so all females are fertile and there is no division of labour or hierarchy; no queens, no workers, an anarchist variety of bees, so to speak.

Their nests are underground, and they are very strong diggers; I saw one disappear completely in fresh sand in about 30 seconds. They don't live in colonies like honey bees, but they do tend to live close together in separate nests, like an underground apartment building.

These bees are about 15mm (0.6") long, so those aren't rocks you see in the photos, but grains of sand. The yellow you see on the legs is pollen; these bees themselves don't have much colour.

Here's one posing for me, finally standing still:

And one at work (you can just make out the three extra little eyes it has on the top of its head):

Another portrait shot. You can easily tell which legs they use to store and carry around pollen (almost exclusively from willows):

And another one at work:

This is what they look like without the pollen. It is pushing away an annoying clump of sand with its hind legs:

Thanks for watching!

Repost from Golos. All photos taken with an Olympus Stylus 1s at 42mm.

Sort:  

It's unique! How do you manage to get these photos? He does not fly away?

They were very busy finding good places and digging. Insects that are eating or working at something are much easier to photograph, and these bees are not easy to disturb anyway, although they did start buzzing around my head when I stayed too long, which is a warning, but I wasn't bothered, as these bees can't sting 8-).
And, don't tell anyone, but these are the best shots selected out of 74 photos 8-).

@ocrdu I saw your reply on my post about this but decided to just reply here
these are so damn cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nice pics! We have wasps we call yellow jackets that will make the whole hive in the ground. BTW I know from personal experience, I accidentially walked on the hole, the yellow jackets flew up my pant lags and nailed my legs!!! Not fun!

That must have hurt, but in the wasps' defense: you would be slightly annoyed too when somebody stepped on your house!
The bees in the photos are a species that can't sting, makes photographing a bit more relaxed 8-).

It did hurt and worst was the unexpected shock of it. From what I understand they can sting repeatedly!

Wasps can, yes, but the supply of poison is limited. Stings can also make you feel cold and shiver, but if there aren't very many and you aren't allergic it doesn't go beyond that (into anaphylactic shock). Still, it hurts like little else!

Great work! Wonderful detail on the bees!

Thank you!

Interesting post. Magnificent photos. Well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47