Cute newt (repost)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I was about to enter this photo into the Steemit Photo Challenge, when I realised that a newt, however cute, is not a reptile. I'm reposting the photo anyway, for your viewing pleasure.

It shows a tiny baby newt crossing a vast expanse of road, or narrow bicycle track, as we humans would call it:


Olympus Stylus 1s, ISO200, 28mm, f4, 1/40s

I helped it across; better safe than sorry.

Sort:  

I know we're not supposed to interfere with nature, but I would have helped it get across the road. :-)
I hope it made it to it's destination. :-0

I hope so too.
I rarely interfere with nature, but I do remember yelling at a heron: "Leave my tree frogs alone!". It just blurted out.

Hee hee! Did it work?

Oh yes! Tree frogs are a protected species here and cute, and nature or no nature, I will persuade herons to go elsewhere for their food.

A true animal lover. :-)

Aww so cute! Look at its big eyes :D

It's the first newt I ever saw in the wild in my region of The Netherlands, and I would have missed it if it hadn't moved, it was so tiny.

Why did the newt cross the road?

The chicken owed it money.

@ocrdu - dat newt is asking for trouble :)

It was. I think it was OK though, after the giant made it fly on a leaf to the other side of the road 8-).

@ocrdu the giant made it fly on a leaf? huwat?

I scooped it up on a leaf and put it down again across the path.

Great picture of the miniature newt. The clarity is amazing.
We used to have to drive in zigzags to work on a particular mountain road during part of the year, as there were nodules ( ?) of newts crossing the road to mating sites. Rather amazing, and took a long time to get to work. We moved them too, but you have to make sure to move them to where they are going, or they might just turn around and try again.
You really captured him/her well.

Thanks. They are quite a bit rarer in my region! We do get that sort of mass migrations from frogs and toads though, enough to put up traffic signs.
And yes, I noticed it's no use putting them back to where they came from, they are very stubborn that way 8-).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79