Caterpillars, weird and wonderful

in #photography8 years ago

Here are some pictures of caterpillars I came across during my walks. I have been able to identify them (correctly, I hope), but I am mainly interested in what they look like.

Funny thing is, that some spectacular butterflies have very modest-looking caterpillars, and some of the weirdest and prettiest caterpillers transform into discreetly coloured butterflies.

The pale tussock:

The garden tiger moth:

Unidentified, I call it "twiggy":

The white ermine:

The poplar hawk-moth:

The peacock:

The sycamore :

The small quaker:

The common yellow swallowtail (huge!):

Sort:  

Wow!!! These amazing caterpillars. Thank you for sharing

That's so disgusting, it's beautiful! :D Great shots! Resteemed!

@ocrdu prachtige fotos man!
I love the last one!
I would bring that yellow swallowtail and peacock caterpillar home in a jar and let 'em munch in my garden. Lucky you for finding them. I was wondering what the peacock butterfly's caterpillar look like, now I know I'm hunting next year haha . I love them! I was hoping the guys partying on our Budlejas would lay their eggs on it - no luck. Apparently, they do in a certain tree.

Peacocks lay eggs on nettles, which most people remove from their gardens ...

I see @ocrdu, I don't have nettles in my garden but now that I know I'm going to flip those leaves and check them out next spring when I go hunting for ladybugs for my strawberry greenhouse.
I'm going to grab some nettle rhisomes in the organic garden as well and grow them in pots they tend to run like strawberries hahaha. Then make tea and hopefully, the guys in this post lay their eggs there next year. Thank you very much for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47