Butterflies: Green-Veined White

in #photography6 years ago

The green-veined white (Pieris napi), klein geaderd witje in Dutch, is mostly white, which many of you may find unspectacular. It does compensate by having an eclectic taste in flowers it feeds on, so still plenty of colour in these photos.

These butterflies are very common in The Netherlands and have three to four generations a year; they can be seen from june to as late as november, if the weather allows a fourth generation.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/500s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f4, 1/1600s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 200mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/200s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f8, 1/320s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/320s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/160s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/500s

It can be easily confused with the small white (Pieris rapae), klein koolwitje in Dutch, especially in summer when the lines on the side are less clear:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/500s

This species mates very discreetly, covering the naughty bits with their wings, so no need for an NSFW tag:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/500s

Thanks for watching!

Previous in series: Map.

Sort:  

I really like to see the post there because it is very good. very beautiful flowers and butterflies that look very unique I am very interested

Great motif, wonderful colors... Perfect! :-) Now that's what I'm talking about!! Lovely light, soothing colors and very well-behaved butterflies :) Fantastic shot, my friend

Thank you.

Beautiful pictures, your pictures represent for me life and beauty!!!

thank you for sharing beautiful photography @ ocrdu @jhoni maybe you enjoy more

Great macro pictures my dear friend... I wonder where you find these butterflies... You took a lot of kind butterflies pictures...

Congrats and have a nice day..

All my butterfly photos were taken in the east of The Netherlands.

GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am very amazed to see the butterfly photo in your post, this is really awesome, the right shot and calm.
My eyes are too pampered with pictures of you, keep visiting my post to see the 1000 hunt butterfly expedition. Regards by @green07

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 13 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

butterflies are very beautiful portraits, and I also have them, take it if you like it for your collection, my goal is just share with you, and be your friend 'thank youIMG_20180209_152655.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52