Bird on a cold asphalt roof

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

A rare visitor in the inner city, this grey wagtail (Motacilla cinerea). It probably was attracted by the rice somebody threw out for the birds, even though it is an insect eater. It landed on a flat roof right in front of me yesterday as I was looking out the window:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f2.8, 1/500s

You need a very high shutter speed when you photograph one of these; they never stop moving, especially the tail moves up and down constantly, hence the bird's name.

You rarely see this bird in cities, but the species has a huge distribution across the world, so you may have seen one yourself where you are. Note that this one is in its winter coat; these birds looks slightly different in summer.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.31 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 01 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You were right about the shutter speed, we have these birds a lot in africa but it's hard to get a proper picture unless you put the shutter speed high

Exactly. I've never been this annoyed with a bird before. Sit still! 8-)

Looks like a Jay bird

@ocrdu, am glad you wrote its name I almost thought it's a great tit hahaha

You see tits everywhere, don't you? 8-)

hahaha @ocrdu
maybe - even in winter? I miss them singing in the backyard, they've been quiet on the neighbor's conifer even when I go throw the greens in the green trash can I don't see them nor hear them, they used to go on the next door neighbor's birch tree asking me for food but this year, I didn't buy them the peanut balls, I only see a red breast robin sometimes, probably nesting near us that one is very very fat hahaha

with great tits I meant these guys

I know 8-P.
They probably are still around somewhere, sulking about not getting their peanut balls.

Yep those are awesome tits

I like the tail feather. Beautiful! Happy New Year! :D

And to you!

BEAUTIFUL BIRD!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66