An attempt to explain a photograph

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My dear Steemians,

I just noticed that my entry into the Steemit Photo Challenge hasn't inspired enough of you to vote. I suspect this is because the photograph in said entry is hard to understand.

I don't blame you for your failure to get it, as the symbolism is quite subtle. I will try to explain. This will be difficult because of the difference in clarity of thinking between us: I am so enlightened I don't need a flash to take photographs in the dark, and you are, well, not.

The photograph is, of course, a comment on the human condition.

Notice how the little ray of sunshine in the photograph doesn't illuminate the wall in the back at all well. That's life for you: you never see far enough ahead to avoid problems, which is why even though your path seems to be illuminated, you still run into brick walls.

Obviously, that's not life for me, what with my being at the top of the consciousness pyramid and all that, but then, the photograph isn't for me, it is for you, my audience.

So you see, it is art: neo-functional mannerism, cerebral but oblique.

I hope you see more clearly now, particularly the whales among you.

Strangely, this post was inspired by ice cubes.

Sort:  

Ah, this clears it up somewhat! I am now suitably enlightened ;0)

Good! Now try to stay on The Path of Guiding Symbolismtm!

I'm on it... I think, wait, where am I!?!

Never mind where you are, just walk on, and ...

the quintessence of minimalism.

Ha! You can be pretentious too 8-). Is sarcasm an accepted form of humour where you live?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49