A tale of two alleys

in #photography8 years ago

I was going through my old photos to see if I could find something shadowy for the Steemit Photo Challenge, and, of course, I didn't, but I did find these two 30-year-old photos of alleyways in the ancient town of Utrecht, The Netherlands.

Both alleys lead to the Oude Gracht, which is full of shops and renovated fronts, but 30 years ago, things immediately behind the Oude Gracht looked rather less well maintained. You could get a glimpse of what things were like outside of the shopping crowds.

From the outside looking in at people shopping:

From the inside looking out at a man at work:

There are plenty of shadows and shades in the photos, but I don't think they qualify for the photo challenge. Still, I'm glad I found them again. Both photos were taken with a Praktica B200 on Ilford FP4+ film and processed from the negative film scanned at 4000dpi.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Awesome submission, good luck, upvoted

my pleasure

Interesting photos. Upvoted.

@ocrdu I like the 2nd pic the most - it speaks !
the old man - I can feel how heavy what he is pulling - must be :p

I like the second one best myself.
If memory serves, the alley the man is in is called Zakkendragerssteeg!

Good pictures. :)

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29