A rare find: a cute smooth newt (crossing the street)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

These newts are common in Europe, but not where I live; it is in fact the first one I have ever seen in my region of The Netherlands.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 28mm, ISO200, f4, 1/40

As you may see, it was crossing an immensely wide stretch of road. As you perhaps don't see, it was very young and only 4cm (1.6") long, and crossing a bicycle path. Here's a close-up:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 28mm, ISO200, f4, 1/30

It carried a grain of white quartz on its head, very convenient for setting the white balance. The reddish hue you see on the road is because in The Netherlands, many bicycle tracks are red to distinguish them from normal grey tarmac. Having taken these pictures, I used a leaf to help it safely across, and wished it all the best.

Sort:  

My favorite childhood pet besides my dog was water newts so I made sure my kids each had a couple also. Nice pics.

Thank you.
I read they can live to be quite old in captivity. Never had one as a pet myself.

Cool find! Thanks for helping it across the road!

Cute little newt, thank you for carrying it safety :)

@ocrdu his family is looking for him
I found these guys on a pile of conifer logs in the backyard and had to transfer them elsewhere cause we had to chop the conifers into log and that means they will have to loose their cover, I put them in the strawberry greenhouse and they went under the pots :)

Cute! Always nice to rescue a few. I hope they like strawberries. 8-)

like lizard

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59