A jewel crossing the road

in #photography7 years ago

The other day, we spotted this spectacular bug crossing the road. It was about 3cm (2.2") long, quite large as Dutch bugs go:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 200mm, ISO800, f5.6, 1/25s

It then hid and moved about in the grass, as if it didn't want to be photographed, so the photos aren't great:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO800, f5.6, 1/20s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO800, f5.6, 1/20s

I think it is a Carabus auronitens, goudglanzende schallebijter in Dutch, or one of its close cousins. I couldn't find a common English name for this one.

It looks roughly similar to this one I found two months ago in a peat bog, could be related:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/20os

That last one I think is a Carabus clathratus, moerasschallebijter or getraliede schallebijter in Dutch.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Nice bug, olympus can do attractive colors

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@Ocrdu amazing, I loved it

omg this is incredibly awesome post! I think you work hard for it

Nice find! My son, who is five, going on six, is at the age where he is fascinated by bugs. He loves to bring his "bug box" outside and have me catch anything we can find in the yard so he can keep it for a night or two. We caught a wooly worm caterpillar the other day who spun a cocoon in his bug box, so we will see if it survives.

A much nicer fascination than video games! I hope he doesn't pick up the ones in the photos; they can bite really hard.

He always asks me before picking up an insect. I showed him how to handle a beetle with large mandibles in such a way so that it cannot bite, but he was too afraid to try it.

It does hurt like fuck a lot.

What a spectacular looking ground beetle. It certainly looks like the one you mention.

@ocrdu!
Great piece of work Sir. I love the quality of pictures. Can you tell me the name of camera...?

Really cool looking bug!

wow, so beautiful bugs! I've never seen bugs ike these close to me, but their colors are really nice! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41