Dutch Watermills

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Knowing full well my photos cannot begin to compete with such trending gems as this one, I decided on reposting some older photos today.


Some of the water mills in my region of The Netherlands, as photographed by me.


The Haarmühle near Alstätte (just across the border in Germany, actually, but that is easily fixed by moving some border posts):

Haarmolen1.jpg

Part of its gearbox:

haarmuehle4.jpg


The Oostendorper watermolen near Haaksbergen:

OostendorperWatermolen_bw.jpg

The same one in colour for the B&W-blind:

OostendorperWatermolen.jpg

The Dutch landscape painter Jacob van Ruisdael made several paintings of this Oostendorper watermolen. Here are two of them, showing what the mill looked like in the seventeenth century:

ruisdael1.jpg

ruisdael2.jpg


A small watermill on an estate called Twickel near Delden:

TwickelWatermolen.jpg


A large one on an estate called Singraven near Denekamp:

WatermolenSingraven.jpg


Thanks for watching.

Sort:  

I like such old sites. It reminds me at ‘Bokrijk’.

That has an open-air museum, right?

Yes it is located in Belgium.

excelentes fotografias

Very nice photography, especially the last one...thanks for sharing @ocrdu

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hi - This post has been upvoted by an in-development voting bot, which was created for a university project-work!
Please also leave a upvote for me, so that my votes will mean more in the future!

I don't like voting bots in any shape or form. Please retract your vote and stay away from my postings.

This is really beautiful @ocrdu

I congratulate on the exelente image wish him a good day.

When I get my own peice of land I have always wanted to build my own hydro wheel and do stuff like this if I have water rights on the land. We have laws here on if we can build something like this or not. You have to be the first one on the water source to build on it or go through a bunch of hoops and get permission from everyone who uses the water source.

It would be great to have something like that. The Haarmühle actually has an electric generator installed in it now, but I don't know how much power it delivers.

I love these photographs in black and white @ocrdu. They are stunning.

And in colour the scenes look so peaceful. Nicely captured! 😊

Thank you! It took quite some time to get shots without tourists cluttering the frame.

It was worth the wait I think @ocrdu. They look so serene with no humans hanging around. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83