Ice road long run, Vaisakhi and friendly strangers for another #runforsteem entry

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DJK35473.jpg


Had a push workout today, and headed out for a warm, sunny run.

I brought the DSLR along to get some photos of the Dettah Ice Road, because it, like so many things and people, just looks better a bit wet.

Even a sloppy, melting city street.

I'm putting this into the #runforsteem challenge as a duplicate entry this week. There is no additional reward for doing so, but I want to see @jumowa get more entries, so unless you know someone else who will join, I don't see that I have much choice. :)

Here is the challenge - https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-apr-11th-apr-19th-and-payout-for-last-week

My strava:
Untitled-1.jpg


I was a few kilometers in, just getting into my groove, when I saw a group of young men offering bananas - I kid you not, on a table on the sidewalk downtown. It looked like some kind of trap to ensnare runners, so of course I grabbed a banana.

Turns out they were celebrating a religious holiday, Vaisakhi (foundation of khalsa panth). He told me a bit about his religions emphasis on charity while I enjoyed the proof of it. I was refueled and off.

Mr. Singh (on the left) was very happy to receive the photos, and equally happy to share information about the holiday or his religion.


DJK35479.jpg


I continued down the hill to Rotary Park, at the start of the ice road, and found it only a little rotten.

DJK35496.jpg


It wasn't that bad at all, and very soon was amazing. I LOVE running. Here is one reason.

DJK35560.jpg


This was the 'traffic' I had to contend with. Well, there were also skidoos, kitesurfers and such, but they were over-the-top polite about taking things slow and leaving plenty of room. This road has LOTS of room for everyone. I'm not sure if it is the City or the Territory that puts the road it, but they do a great job!

A little further on, there was a short, dark-haired woman walking in the opposite direction. I asked if I could take her photo, and she agreed. She then shot mine, and did a really nice job. I think, anyway.

DJK35585.jpg


When I finally got to Dettah, I found that the slop was too sloppy. I could run through it, but decided to turn back. Being cautious I guess.

Obligatory shadow-selfie:

DJK35597.jpg


My pace was wildly and enthusiastically slow, especially with the stops to eat and chat, but it was all worth it. I cooled down a bit too much the second time, though. Decided to pull the plug on this 'long run' a bit early. No biggie, I still have a bit more distance than I wanted this week.

One last ice-road shot, just because I think it is beautiful.

DJK35620.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing photos!! Love the ice road shots and the colorful turbans against the blue sky. It must be tough running on icy trails. Nice post!

Thanks @countrygirl it can be tough, but when it's really slippery, you can slow right down and use it as form drill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45