Real talk on weddings and a few photos from my Vermont wedding

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I don't like to spend money on consumption.

A wedding is one of the most expensive forms of consumption and for a while I struggled with the idea of having a wedding that cost a lot of money. But doing so is traditional and it was important to my wife, so we did. On June 18th, 2016 we got married in @berniesander's home state of Vermont at a place called the Mountain Top Inn and it turned out to be well worth it.

Below are some of my favorite photos from the day. When money is spent on consumption, photos are the only thing you have left ¯_(ツ)_/¯



@ntomaino

  • Follow me on Twitter
  • Hear about why I'm excited about Steemit here
Sort:  

This should not be tagged steemitphotochallenge as these are not macro nature shots. Please remove the tag to make it easier for the judges to judge this week's contest. Thanks!

@missjessica and I are in the same boat. We do not want to spend a crazy amount of money on our wedding, so we're trying to come up with ways to make all of our friends and family happy, while also having a good time ourselves, without killing our wallets. It's way tougher than I could have ever imagined. Many of my friends spent a lot on their weddings and every one of them said it wasn't worth it. Beautiful pictures, by the way, looks like you two had an awesome time!

Yah, its definitely a tradeoff (you want to maximize fun while minimizing costs). At the end of the day though, your friends and family will have fun no matter what. Good luck, it's a lot of work but the end result is well worth it!

@ntomaino please don't downflag people (like my wife) who are accurately protecting the photo challenge hash tag, as asked to do so by contest organizers. Simply apologizing and removing the hash tag shows you are reasonable and open to correction. Flagging in response to someone's actions which are helpful to the community shows otherwise.

i removed the tag. please don't bring this drama to my posts otherwise. thanks!

If you don't want drama, don't create drama and remove your downvote here:

You're negatively responding to a member of the community who is actively working to improve the community. That, to me, is activity which will harm the community.

Downvoting a simple comment in my own post is not harming the community :)

You should get outside today Luke!

Sorry, maybe "harm" isn't the right word. I think "negatively impact" may be more accurate. Flagging impacts reputation, something I and the community value here. The flag's purpose is mainly for protecting the community from abuse, plagiarism, identity theft, etc, not for hiding comments from people who point out an important correction.

You should get outside today Luke!

Thank you, I plan to. You may not see it this way, but your comment could be taken as condescending and for someone who wants to avoid drama, it strikes me as counter-productive to your goal. I hope you have a wonderful day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49