The Best Free Image Hosting I have found for Steemit or anywhere else... (Especially for Photographers & Artists)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

When I first signed up I found out that I needed image hosting for the images. In the past I used to have multiple web hosting accounts so I'd just throw them up on one of my domains. But for the first time in many years I found myself without any web hosting all of my domains right now are using things like Adobe Portfolio.

So I looked for a free image host. As I looked at a few sites and their TOS was not available or they said they could include your images in a searchable gallery or it seemed sketchy to me as, a professional photographer that tries to protect the use of my images (as much is possible online). And I know marketers steal images and go to sites like that to look for  them. So I didn't want to risk it.

Then I remembered about my Dropbox account and their "Public" Folder... and there is a little text file in there telling you how to use it...

"The Public folder lets you easily share single files in your Dropbox. Any file you put in this folder gets its own Internet link that you can share with others -- even non-Dropbox users!

Step 1:  Drop a file into the Public folder.

Step 2:  Right-click this file, then choose Dropbox > Copy Public Link. This copies an Internet link to your file that you can paste anywhere: emails, instant messages, blogs, etc.

That's it! To share your file, just send the link to a friend."

So I just transferred all of my files to the Dropbox Public Folder on my computer got the link put it in my posts. Now I control all of  my images myself and can remove them any time I need to. I can also store other files outside of the "Public" folder that you can access anywhere and even on your phone that are not publically accessable. So you have both Private and Public Storage up to 2 Gb free, unless you want more space.

When you signup please use this link so I can get additional space for referring you to it, as I'm running out of space and remember it's free. Enjoy!
https://db.tt/NEju7lJb

UPDATE 8:42 PM 12/15/2016

I'm no longer reccomending Dropbox for image hosting due to the email I just received below which means I'm going to have to change out all of my image links...


" Hi Nico,

We’re always looking to improve the Dropbox sharing  experience. The Public folder was the first sharing method we  introduced, and since then, we’ve built even better ways for you to  share securely and work together with your team.

As a result,  we’ll soon be ending support for the Public folder. Dropbox Basic users  will be able to use the Public folder until March 15, 2017.  After that date the files in your Public folder will become private,  and links to these files will be deactivated. Your files will remain  safe in Dropbox.

If you’d like to keep sharing files in your Public folder, you can create new  shared links.  Just make sure to send the new URLs to your collaborators.

In  addition to shared links, we have a number of sharing options designed  to make collaboration easier and give you more control. To learn more,  visit our Help Center.

The Dropbox team"



Sort:  

This is actually a pretty good use of Dropbox that I had not thought of. Remember this is also Microsoft One Drive and Google Drive and Google Photos, all of these are free services and I think offer a higher number of GB for storage than Dropbox, but I suggest signing up to all of them.

How do you use the share link on Google Photos? I just tested the link on this post and it would not work.

I have not tested the information out on this page myself, but it looks solid and not like old information, hopefully this will help

http://www.labnol.org/internet/embed-google-photos-in-website/29194/

I had not heard of those except for Google Drive. I'd have to check out the TOS of those first. But thanks for mentioning them them so that we all have more options.

You could also use, SteemIMG.com <-
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43