Beyond the horizon

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


Dachstein 4 Upload.jpg

I shot the image on a Rolleiflex 2.8 F/80mm with Kodak Portra 400 120 Film.
Click on the photo to view full screen


The shot was taken on the plateau of Dachstein in Austria. I was afraid my Rolleiflex camera (a bit heavy) will drop down when I made the image. However, everything worked out fine. The picture is far from perfect, lots of noise and dust particles where visible when I scanned the negative. What I like on film is sometimes the imperfection. And this makes it more alive, more real in a sense. Nothing wrong with perfect digital images, but most of the time people heavily editing their work with "Mickey Mouse" colours which dont even exist. The image they took looked very different than the one they post on steemit or other popular platforms, if you know what I mean. Anyways, hope you dont get bored of my writing and just enjoy the view!


Sort:  

"....the imperfection. And this makes it more alive, more real in a sense" so true! Love it. Perfection, in this world, is rare; imperfections have their own beauty.

thank you for the nice comment

Like a different planet.

Yes so pure. Thx for the comment

Nice one, at least you snapped something even though it is not perfect.

thank you for stopping by and commenting

wow amazing photo

Spectacular view! Love the minimalist approach :))

I love minimalism too :) thx for commenting

Wow this looks good, I love it

thx man glad you like it.

One of my friends have been getting really into shooting with film lately. It seemed odd at first, but i can definitely see the charm in it now. Sure it's lovely to be able to take a thousand photos without worries, but limiting yourself by shooting with film forces creativity in another way. I haven't tried it myself yet, but it seems very cool :)

Def worth trying out.
It doesn't replace digital, it's something extra.

Yeah, exactly. I would really like to try a black room at one point. Would be really cool seeing your image "come to life", i think.

Yes your approach is very different than with a digital tool. Try it out! It's lots of fun especially when the outcome is nice. Thx for commenting

I'll try it out as soon as i get my hands on the right camera (and film) ^^

Wow! I know it's just "blue" but why the heck it's so beautiful! Very nice photo @nikokafka!

blue is a warm colour :) thx

Beautiful. Makes me imagine walking towards those mountains. More like this please.

More to come for sure :) thx

the image is beautiful as you shown us the natural beauty of nature. your works are great good job and keep doing you @nikokafka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58