Grateful every day.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Every morning before the day starts, my husband and I have a cup of coffee overlooking our garden. I wish I can say it’s our quiet time where we get to talk, plan our day or discuss life and what makes the world go round. Alas!! We have two highly functional and inquisitive children who have their own discussions, opinions and general things to say to us… CONSTANTLY, NON-STOP, ALL THE TIME, AD INFINITUM. But I digress.

Looking out on our garden this morning I realise again how blessed I am.

I’m married to a man that loves me for who I am. In Afrikaans we have a saying: “Dit sit nie sommer in enige man se broek nie.” Direct translation: “It doesn’t just sit in any man’s pants.” Meaning: “Is not able to cope with or not able to do something.’ I’d like to believe that I’m easy-going, open minded, fun and have all my ducks in a row, but honestly, there are moments where I lose the plot. Those are the moments that makes my husband capable to and worthy. I’m fortunate to be the one he loves and to be his wife.


Day lily

I have my two beautiful, healthy, and not allergic to anything, good natured, intelligent daughters. I’m truly blessed and so proud to be their mother.

I live in a city with perfect weather. Warm to hot from September to May. How nice is that!


Sunset in my garden

Thanks to my parents I have a love for gardening. I’m also thankful for Tau who comes from Zimbabwe and now lives with us. He helps me to make my garden such a feast. We have 20 palm trees in our garden. If you sit just right it feels like you’re on an island. I have to admit – I’m not thankful for the mess they make! We are fortunate to be able to spend many happy hours in our garden where we ‘braai’, laugh, swim and entertain.

Shout out to @pery – I told you about this one. This dude is the size of a tennis ball!


African snail

If you enjoy my articles please follow me on my blog at @naomi.louise

Sort:  

Amazing place and beautiful pictures!
But what's that in the pool???

Looks like a crocodile @richman . Africa is a tough country :)

Indeed, Africa is tough, although there are many countries there ;p

The whole of Africa is tough. All of it. Much like trying to identify snakes. Too many - so you're careful of all of them :)

Don't scare the poor man @jacor !!(pun intended).
It's a dolphin done with ceramic tiles @richman. (the house was built in the 90's)

Don't scare the poorman )))
Actually, I thought it was a shark!

Beautiful post my Plankie :) Love you <3

O.o superb place you got there, and yeah you are trully blessed to have such a beautifull home and garden!

I simply love following people who are positive. We need more people like you spreading positivity around like fairy dust! And holy cow, look at the size of that snail!
ps - I'm lucky to have a husband who loves me with all my imperfections too. what a blessing. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely message. I believe we can achieve so much more with positivity. That snail has a ball eating my plants, but I can't bring myself to get rid of him. The way I see it, he's come this far with his stealth and lots of luck – I might as well let him be.
I’m glad you have a good husband too. We are truly blessed.

Very nice place of peace, I would love to have such an oasis <3

Thank you @pery. My garden is one of my happy places. Giant snail and all!

@naomi.louise You have such a great place. Wish I could just come visit you! Your pool looks so inviting......

Thank you @giantbear. The pool is still cold, but will soon be amazing.

Thoughts are things. To think is to create. What you think about most you become.If you can hold it in your mind, you can hold it in your hands.

I fully agree with you @rockmoss. Very true words spoken.

Nice pictures! But beware of the shark in your pool. Just saying.

Thank you @ocrdu. We have friends whose son refuses to swim in our pool because of the 'shark' - no matter how many times we assure him it's only a picture and dolphins are kind.

8-) Dolfyn? Dat had ek nie goed gesien nie.

What a beautiful house you have with idyllic surroundings. Maybe if I get lucky with steemit I might be able to afford something like yours one day

Thank you very much @ianstrat. The more you post, the luckier you'll get.
We live in South Africa where we have lots of space. Gardens like ours are the norm and affordable.
I wish you plenty of success on Steemit.

I think you must have the most stunning garden view on all of Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44