Turkish Nargile

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The Turkish water pipe or nargile (sometimes also called a hookah or hubble-bubble) has been around for centuries. Contrary to popular belief, it is not an instrument to smoke hashish or any other drug. The only products used are different flavors of (Turkish) tobacco. There is nothing shady about this 500 year smoking tradition. It’s just a great way to slow life down and relax.

Description source

This particular nargile I found unattended when I was wandering through Diyarbakir, in Turkish Kurdistan. I wish I could go back to those times.

DSC02984.jpg
Click on the image to view full screen

LocationDiyarbakir, Turkey
SettingsISO 100 16 mm f/3.5 1/200
CameraSony Alpha 5000
LensSony 3.5-5.6/16-50

If you liked this post, consider giving it an upvote or resteem. Follow me for more cool stuff and stay loco!

Check out my travel blog as well!

Previous posts:
Just a cat sunbathing in Agha Bozorg Mosque's yard, Iran
[Stoner Travels] Intro / Colombia, Bogota
Matemática in Santo Domingo [Street Photography]
Voyage to Colombia and a nasty surprise in the airport [Part 2]

Sort:  

I have never been a smoker, but this type of pipe has always caught my attention because it seems to me that it is highly relaxing, so that its filtering of tobacco with water makes it less harmful. Maybe at some point I decide to try it. Greetings @nameless-berk

I'm surprised you haven't tried it still

The truth is that my wife has not left me ... Yes, I am a man controlled by his wife. I'll have to do it hidden.

How beautiful. I'm ecstatic and a bit jealous. I would like to visit such beauty.

Hookah in the East is a whole philosophy.

wow,the nargile is an ancient material.
good photography dear.

This comment has received a 0.20 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @mahadihasanzim.

Hehehehe nice pipe o, but somewhere in town peeps are using it to sm*ke something.

You don't say...

Que pipa tan espectacular, tambien la llaman Shisha dispositivo que se emplea para fumar tabaco de distintos sabores.

Bonita pipa, dicen que fumar con ella es màs suave que fumarse un cigarrillo, y el lugar es hermoso, saludos

Nice photo! Love Turkey x

Hermosa pipa y la fotografia es espectacular, saludos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65