One frame, many faces.

in #photography6 years ago

DSC01651-1-2.jpg
Recent advances in camera technology have been wonderful for photographers. Recently I upgraded my camera from the Canon EOS Kiss x5, which has a APS-C sensor at 12MP, to the Sony a7R III hosting a full frame sensor at 42MP. I'm constantly surprised at the level of detail I can get out of this new camera body.

As such I have taken the opportunity to do some creative cropping and produced several photos from a single 42MP jpeg file. I've also linked each file so you can simply click on it to expand it to full size!
DSC01651-1-4.jpg

Nishikigoi are an ornamental carp, prized for their colours and size, they are ravenous as are most carp and will investigate anything that could potentially be food. Merely standing near the pond brought these fish to the edge of the water.
DSC01651-1-3.jpg

The original full-sized, uncropped photo:
DSC01651-1.jpg

Bonus photography processing tip!

Often photos of ponds are washed out and dull looking as the sky is reflected in the water, the water itself may be murky as well. The hardware solution is to use a polarizing filter, this cuts the glare from the surface of the water. Unfortunately, I did not have such a filter with me.
To produce these vivid colours, I used Lightroom to severely reduce the levels of "blacks"-100 "whites"-33 "highlights"-100 while boosting the level of "shadows"+45 and "clarity"+56 "dehaze"+17.
This allowed me to turn the grey reflections of the sky to an inky black, boosting the other levels brought the muted colours back to what the human eye can see.


Thank you for your support!

Sort:  

Yes camera technology getting better as time goes. The development helped the work of a photographer. The fish looks very detailed with a very good color. Good luck always for you @mweich.

Thanks friend! :)

You are welcome my friend 😊.

That's cool shot and i think the last photo is best

Thanks @irdaagstna the last photo does show the most 'story' as it were.

amazing, elegant colors, nice camera, stunning pictures, thanks for sharing, @mweich.

Thanks for your continuing support @jhoni!

Well that's certainly a lovely surprise! Thank you for featuring me!

Great shots of the fish! They have an abstract art feel with nice colours

The amount of detail in the pictures are amazing. I have a sony myself. It's a bit old, but I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42