Fractal Brassica - Romanesco Broccoli!

in #photography7 years ago

The Brassica plants are varied and rather essential to human existence.
The include all of the different varieties of cabbages, turnips, canola as well as mustards!
Check out Brassica on wikipedia for the full list! It is a very long one!

One of the most interesting cultivars is Romanesco Broccoli. It has an incredibly fractal appearance!

Macro shots of it conjure up tales such as "The Mountains of Madness" by H.P. Lovecraft.

I do very much like the effect of the bumping up the contrast and grain after desaturating the photograph!

Colour is good too!

As it is a vegetable, a variety of broccoli, you can prepare it just as you would normally eat broccoli or cauliflower. The taste was very close to broccoli but the texture more like cauliflower. It was quite an interesting experience eating the little fractal trees one by one!

Sort:  

That's a really cool fractal found in nature!

It's the best example I've found so far! Cabbage, just regular round head cabbage has a similar thing if you cut the head horizontally, it shows up best with the purple kinds, where the leaves make a kind of fractal spiral pattern.

I'll have to keep that in mind the next time I go to the supermarket :)

I keep forgetting to do it, as I never need that much cabbage at once!

Hi! We hope to discuss your post today on our podcast!
Feel free to join us at 3pm CST / 9pm GMT at http://steemittalkpodcast.com!

That's great! I don't think I'll be able to listen to it live. Will there be a recording available?

Absolutely! We usually post it 2-3 days following the recording. Feel free to follow this username to see it in your feed!

like a turtle's shield huh?
@mweich I never thought you have this is Japan

Yes, they all fit together with no spaces and get bigger together and still have no spaces between them.

@mweich well am so glad that you are posting again
I hope you keep going!
I haven't seen anyone posting in Japanese or maybe I just overlooked but I haven't bumped into any of it yet.

I've seen a few posts about Japan, though they are usually written in English. Writing in Japanese might be a good niche to get into. Thank you for the idea.

@mweich I saw one a while ago .. when I was going around food trail I saw one
but not much :)
I hope the Japanese community grows - so far I only know you and @knozaki2015 .. there must be more ..

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.54 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

In Italy is very common to find this delicious fractal Nice shoots! (;

Yeah, I've seen it a few times here in Osaka but this is the first one I bought, they are a bit more expensive than the regular broccoli. Next time I'll have to make sure of where it was from, they are required to put country or place of origin on all produce here.

I don't know what is the origin, but I think that is italian, because in all the place (supermarket, market and local vegetable gardens) you can find it, and so cheap as the traditional broccoli! (;

That is likely the case, wikipedia gives the first documentation for Romanesco as being in Italy.

I believe! (;

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64