exploring the unexplored #3 : Borra Caves [part -2]

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hello My Dear Steemian Friends,

I am back with the 2nd part of my experience about Borra Caves as I have promised.
As I told you before in its first part, my friends and I had a tour in 2015, and in that trip, we visited this beautiful place.
In 1807 William King George discovered this natural caves during a geological survey of India.

IMG_20180130_004112_688.jpg

There are so many myths about this place. According to some locals, Once a cowherd lost his cow here while grazing. Then he started finding his cow and soon realized that his cow had fallen somewhere .While searching his cow he found these natural caves.There is a stone which was looking exactly like **Shiva Linga **. Shiva Linga is considered synonymous to Lord Shiva according to Hindu religion. The cowherd saved the cow, and after that, a small temple of Lord Shiva was built right outside the caves.


IMG_20180201_230656_725.jpg

The caves were created due to the flow of Gosthani River which is used to flow over the limestone area.The river is used to flow through the caves between the formations. The beautiful stalagmite and stalactite formations are the result of the dissolved limestone which is trickled down drop by drop and formed different beautiful shapes in the cave.

IMG_20180202_142444_215.jpg

IMG_20180129_143815_520.jpg

One can see different beautiful formations of stalagmite and stalactite which seem like Mother-Child, Human-brain, Rushi's-Beard, Crocodile, Shiva-Parvati and many more.
A Shiva-Linga and an Idol of Kamdhenu (cow) are also among those formations which have a religious significance.

IMG_20180201_230942_307.jpg


IMG_20180202_142314_337.jpg


IMG_20180202_142530_018.jpg


IMG_20180202_142342_941.jpg


IMG_20180129_144600_019.jpg


IMG_20180130_004229_406.jpg


IMG_20180202_142234_004.jpg

We had a magical experience at that place, and for me especially it was one of those extraordinary experiences that I will never forget. I felt there like I was lost in a different but beautiful world somewhere in outer space.


IMG_20180202_155021_183.jpg

After visiting that beautiful place, we planned to come back to Vizag by train as train journey in India is always fun.The station was five kilometers far away from those caves. It took almost 6 hours to reach Vizag as that was a local passenger train. We reached Vizag at 11.30 and came to our hotel rooms with some Golden memories.

Image Source: All pictures are my own and shot with a mobile camera.

Thank you so much for giving your precious times to read my post. I hope you liked it. See you in the next. Don't forget to leave a comment about your views on this post. Thank you very much. Have a great day. Regards @mrakeshrex

Sort:  

Wow, such an amazing looking cave! I would love to visit some place like this, I have never been inside a natural cave. Thanks for sharing, you just earned yourself an upvote!

My vote isn't worth enough to express how cool I think these photos are though. :') Anyways, keep on posting!

Thank you so much for appreciating my work and thank you for upvoting . You can have a look on its first part . Have a great day . Followed you . @routa

Amazing Click @mrakeshrex I'd really appreciate if you can take a moment and see my photography also. Thanks :)

Thank you . I'd love to see your photographs . @vnyrox

Just an amazing trip! Your pictures are so very beautiful.

Thank you so much my friend . @acrowland

It is great experience! Thanks for sharing us these nice shots!

Thank you so much . Be prepared to see some more exiting experiences which I will share in future posts . I hope you will like them too . Regards @chorock

Dude those are great shots! Congrats :)

Thank you so much brother for your precious words . I really appreciate them . Regards @meertcevik

Congratulations @mrakeshrex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you so much sir . This award is really an honor for me . @steemitboard

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74