The Ups and Downs of Hill Rallying

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I first came across this sport in October when the chairman of my Photography Club asked if anyone wanted to meet up for a photo opportunity. After trekking a short distance through the woods we arrived at the Trials arena where about 50 vehicles were gathering for the event.

I'm not sure that the competitors of this sport call it Hill Rallying - its known locally as the Kyrle Classic Trials - but for ease of understanding I'll refer to it as such.

Whats It All About?

Unlike normal car rallying, where the quickest time around a course wins the race, Hill Rallying is won by the team (car,/driver/co-driver) accumulating the least amount of points. Entrants take it in turns to scale a series of hills with the goal of getting their Classic or Kit car the furthest up each one. The higher they get the less points they acquire, so making it to the top of the hill gets the team zero points. Although this develops a kind of league table it 's more of a test of each teams individual endurance and skill.

Rally-1.jpg

The hills get progressively more difficult and its not uncommon for a number of cars failing to even get to the 10 point starting block of the first hill. In fact the number of cars getting to the apex is a small fraction of those that pluckily reach a point marker.

The hills in question are basically mud tracks with the occassional underlying rock formation thrown in.
This event used to take place during the spring but an inconsiderate pair of nesting Kestrels forced the organisers to alter the date to autumn which, of course, now adds a decent layer of wet dead leaves into the hill climbing equation.

Rally11.jpg

They get one attempt at each hill and each effort is concluded with either a victorious achievement or an invigorating stall as the car and occupants reach the pinnacle of their abilities.

Rally6.jpg

Tricks Of The Trade

Friction is the teams best friend. It is arguable (and I'm sure they did) that those cars starting the competition have the advantage of better grip than those further back down the queue. I stand neutral on this as I haven't a clue but the theory of diminshing returns probably holds sway.

Another question I forgot to ask was if front or back wheel drive is better (four wheeled drive vehicles are banned from taking part) but I noticed that many of the vehicles had very low tyre pressure and almost no tread in their rear ones so I'm guessing that rear wheel drive is preferred.

For interested future participants a neat trick I can pass on is this:
If you have young family members that you feel have had little practical use during their short lives - you stick them in the back seats of the car as ballast to forcing the rear wheels more into the ground and thus improving traction.
At the end of the rally (assuming they all survive) you can now look on them in a different light.
Failing that just stick some extra wheels on the back.

Rally7.jpg

Other ways of encouraging your metal steed to rise to the occassion are jumping up and down as you negotiate each slippery junction and/or swaying side to side in the (often) forlorn hope of adding a few inches to your ascent and with it the possibility of losing a point as you make it to the next height marker.

Rally10.jpg

No Smoke Without Tyre

The upshot of all this activity is burning rubber. Not environmentally friendly I admit but it makes great pictures, so apologies to polar bears everywhere.

RallyMont.jpg

Sort:  

Lovely photos @mobbscian. Surely there is no Smoke without tires. You pictures look really clear and sharp.
An advice I'll give is for you to add the tag '' photo'' to the tag youve used since the maximum amount of tags is 5, since from experience people check the photo tag very well,so that more people can see this beautiful work.

Also, you can check the contest tag, under the trending pages, to see the contests on photography you can take part in, and have fun and win prices as well. Wishing you the best.

I'll sure love to see more from you, so am following you now. Thanks for sharing this.

I resteemed and upvoted you,so more people will see this.

Please Am on a contest now and I really need your vote. Am low at this point in the contest . All you need do is click this link

https://steemit.com/contest/@jaynie/the-never-would-i-ever-challenge-3-hygiene

And then upvote my comment @lucyc in the comment section.
That will help me win the hygiene contest. Thanks a lot for your anticipated help. You can join the contest if you desire. Thanks for your help

add the tag '' photo''

Good advice. But also if you have tags to spare you can use photos and still photography for variation. I almost always try to use all 5 tags!

Thanks for the advice @lucyc I'll check them all out. I upvotes you so good luck in the challenge.

I had no idea this was going on but I feel like I was in that very forest last time I visited...Maybe you were tying to get me used to the area so I'd more smoothly become one of your counterweights.

By the way I nominated you for this B&W photo challenge You can do for fun, simple posts, check it out!

Well it's not in the forest near where we live but about 5 miles away. Thanks for the nomination (I think) but allow an extra 8 hours GMT for each upload.

Happy to see you post again! I'm sure I don't have to tell you but these are some great pictures and it's cool to learn about this- never heard of this exact spin on a rally before.

Thanks. Yes they do an exact spin on this rally :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65