Snakes in the Water at Chewacla State Park

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My wife and I celebrated our second anniversary this April, and we visited Chewacla State Park in Auburn, Alabama. At one point, we saw something swimming across the lake that we were certain was a turtle, but something seemed strange about the way it was moving through the water.

text

It turned out to be a snake! And as we were taking photos of it, we saw another one! Then another! Apparently, the lake just is teeming with snakes. How terrifying!

text

I don't know if they are water moccasins or some non-venomous type like a rat snake. But we decided not to go swimming that morning!

Canon SL1
55-250mm IS STM at 250mm
ISO 100, 160
f/7.1
1/500, 1/320 sec

Click an image to view it in high resolution!

Check out my introduceyourself post

Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

Sort:  

Nice shot! Followed✌

Hi Mike, you really ought to start posting more again. Steemit is really starting to pick up lately, things are really starting hum along here!

Hi daveks! I hope to start posting more again. Honestly, I enjoy posting to Steemit so much it can be hard to find a good balance with other things in my life. I'm trying to start a irl business, and I noticed I was spending more time on Steemit than I was finding new clients. Hopefully now I can walk the line!

You are doing well, ordinary people can become powerful photographers if they can take advantage of every condition they encounter. The most important thing is how one sees the object of the photo, and then our brain can work to capture and record the moment / object photos well.

Good job @mikemacintire

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84