One Night in Atlanta - Ferris wheel, Chinese Lantern Festival - 6 Original photos, trip report

in #photography8 years ago

I took my wife to Atlanta, Georgia over the Christmas holidays. We stayed on the top floor of the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown, and the view from our room was beautiful! Neither one of us has lived in a city, and we love to see skyscrapers and city lights.

This is a photo I took of the SkyView Ferris wheel. It's a permanent Ferris wheel with climate-controlled units that carry 6 people about 200 feet up, and tickets are $14 USD each.

text

Canon T5i
10-18mm IS STM at 12mm
ISO 100
f/5.0
.6 sec


The Chinese Lantern Festival was in full swing while we were in Atlanta, and I took this photo of it. We didn't think it was worth the $30 or so per ticket to enter the festival, so we just enjoyed it from the outside. A friendly security guard watching the exit stepped aside to let me get this photo. Thank you, security guard!

text

Canon T5i
10-18mm IS STM at 18mm
ISO 100
f/9.0
3.2 sec


This was our hotel room. A lot of work goes in to a shot like this, and I am happy with how it came out!

text

Canon T5i
10-18mm IS STM at 14mm
ISO 400
f/7.1
multiple exposures


Here is a shot I took of the lobby area of the hotel.

text

Canon T5i
10-18mm IS STM at 14mm
ISO 400
f/7.1
1/4 sec


We went to the Georgia Aquarium the next morning. It was amazing! I will have to visit again to get photos to share with you, but for now here is a photo I took of the exterior.

text

Canon T5i
10-18mm IS STM at 12mm
ISO 100
f/5.0 (oops)
1/500 sec


This was our view of the Atlanta skyline from the room. The large, dark, nautical-looking building at the lower left of the frame is the Georgia Aquarium.

text

Canon T5i
10-18mm IS STM at 13mm
ISO 100
f/7.1
6.0 sec


Click an image to view it in high resolution!

Check out my introduceyourself post

Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

Sort:  

Very nice. Interesting to see the Chinese lanterns in a major American city. :-)

Thank you! The lanterns were beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83