Lightpainted Landscapes - Long exposure night photography - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry

in #photography8 years ago

I am officially outside my comfort zone! I usually hide behind natural, realistic work where my creative decision-making takes place inside the box of technical and realistic choices.

But this one's all me! I took this image of some globe lights strung around our deck in the backyard. I focused on the lights, pressed the shutter button, and moved the camera while the shutter was open. Typically, when you see streaks of light in a photograph, the camera was held stationary on a tripod while the lights were moving (like streaking car headlights).

I really liked how the light looked and kept playing with it until I got this landscape-looking shot by smoothly twisting the camera while taking the photo. I think it's pretty cool! This is my third and final entry into the Long Exposure Steemit Photo Challenge!

text

This one looks kind of like a fingerprint or waves rippling out to me. The second photo is just for fun and is not an entry into the challenge.

text

Canon T5i
50mm f/1.8 II prime
ISO 400
f/10
1.6 sec
same for both shots

Click the image to view it in high resolution!

Check out my introduceyourself post

I want to make your steemit experience more beautiful! Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

Sort:  

Light is one of my favorite subjects in photography, it makes shots feels so magical. Both of these are hella rad, the first one reminds me of that Joy Division album cover.

Thank you so much! I didn't know the album cover so I googled it. I can see why you thought of it!

Beautiful contours of light. Interesting compositions @mikemacintire ... thanks for sharing!

Thank you for the kind words!

Experimenting is fun! Keep up the good work!

Very cool man, way to step out of the comfort zone and try something totally different!

Thanks for the confidence boost!

These are great! Very creative, following you.

Thank you very much!

Great stuff again mike!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35