"Suzi" Beetle - Throwback Thursday.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

28c112e6-7c34-49f4-a180-a57b2347b7d3.jpeg


This was my very first car I bought after working my butt off to earn the money to pay for it. When I bought it, it was a wreck and my father and I built it up from scratch. Brings back so many memories of crazy adventures.

We spent many months restoring this little "bug"ger and I was so proud the day I got to take her out on her maiden voyage. My first trip was 1000km from Kimberley (Diamond City) in the Northern Cape all the way to Cape Town in the Western Cape of South Africa at break neck speeds of up to 100km/h LOL :-)

I had the best times and at the same time never had so many car problems in my entire life. One thing though, if it managed to start it would take you just about anywhere you needed to go. I also learnt a lot about fixing cars, all thanks to my most favourite of cars to this day.

A friend of mine actually spotted her still running through the streets of Cape Town, so there is a chance I may get her back, Oh happy day!!! :-)

What was your first car?

Happy Thursday Everyone.

PS. This photo as taken by a friend of mine who was studying photography at the time, and he was all to keen to try out his new skills. Pretty good for a student, many moons ago :-)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Thanks :-) my friend was pretty talented :-)

How nice !!
you were lucky...

Thanks @pilarlopez I did however work my but off to get it though, had like 3 jobs and school, and then had to build it up as I had spare money to pay for parts, so was quite hard, but it was certainly worth it.

Thanks for comment, have a stunning evening.
:-)

if it were not so, it would be a car more ... now it has a very nice story of sacrifice and illusion !! ;)

Indeed :-)

Have an awesome weekend.

Such dedication! Get her back one day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @michaeljn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

What a lovely story of your first car. You should get her back one day!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Am looking into it, who knows maybe a photo of me with Suzi on here one day, lol :-)

Congratulations @michaeljn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82