Pictures From An OFF GRID Homestead ~ The Chicken Coop, Smoked Salami and MORE!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

It's Picture Time Again!


Folks tell us that they love seeing the photos from around the Homestead. Our other photo posts have done so well that we thought we might make this a regular series.

Here was our last photo series in case you wanted to take a look.
https://steemit.com/photography/@mericanhomestead/pictures-from-an-off-grid-homestead-sugar-cane-tomatoes-and-more

PICTURE 1

This is our outdoor kitchen that we use for all of our summer and fall canning activities. We will roughly put up 500 or more jars of food this year in this kitchen plus process other goodies like Sugar Cane syrup and meat preservation.
kit1.jpg

Steemit LogoPICTURE 2Steemit Logo

Jaimie is holding two jars of peach jam that we canned after visiting a local peach orchard this year. We picked two full bushels (4 baskets) worth of peaches and canned them 2 different ways. Our peach trees on the homestead are not yet old enough to bear fruit but soon that day will come.
jaimiecan.jpg

Steemit LogoPICTURE 3Steemit Logo

This is a true delicacy on the homestead. These are venison and lamb hard salami sticks that are just about finished smoking in the cold smoker on the homestead. We only make these in the winter as the cold temps allow the meat to cure. After smoking, they hang for at least 2 months in the house pantry and they are ready to eat. You never have to refrigerate them!
slami.jpg

Steemit LogoPICTURE 4Steemit Logo

This is the homestead chicken coop just after it was built. This is one of the first things we built once we moved on the homestead because having an active and growing flock means food production and that cuts grocery costs. Farm raised eggs and meat and we always allow our chicks to go broody so they hatch out a new flock every year to replace other aging birds.
chicken.jpg

Steemit LogoPICTURE 5Steemit Logo

The Guinea coop was probably the first thing that got built once we moved on the land. My father in law built this coop to house our guinea birds. We had tons of ticks and chiggars on the homestead and guinea hens will clean all of them out in short order. So building this coop was a top priority. Today, you have to really search for a tick to find one.
guinea.jpg

Steemit LogoHOMESTEAD MEME FOR THE DAY:Steemit Logo

truck.jpg

Thanks for Following!

resteem.jpg


Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


Sort:  

Wonderful info on ticks and guineas. I'm gonna facebook share this post to my patient support group. I'm a homeopath and I deal with SO many cases of Lyme disease [in all stages]. It's tick season right now and this is one way some of those folks can think to decrease the numbers of ticks on their homesteads. Right now I recommend them a dose of ledum 30c weekly for each member of the family and domestic animals as a preventative. :-)
I don't really believe in homeoprophylaxis [I can't work out how that would work, but my mind is open if someone wants to come up with a logical mechanism], but I think this weekly dose acts by treating Lyme in its very early stages. I've had two daughters [of my 4] with Lyme. http://sallylloydhomeopathy.com/homeopathic-ledum-as-first-aid-treatment-for-lyme-borreliosis-disease/ tells our story with Lyme and a little more about how to use Ledum. xx

GREAT! Here is an article on our website we published. They really decimate the tick population. They are a bit noisy at times but they are wonderful totally eliminating ticks on your homestead. https://anamericanhomestead.com/get-rid-of-ticks-guaranteed/

Excellent! I'll read and pass that on. 😄

Nice post, I plan to check out your website as well. I am currently raising egg chickens and pan to do bees next year. Just installed new fencing for the chickens today. I had a few jumpers that could clear the old fence.

Yeah they will jump...no doubt about it. They jump higher than rabbits in my opinion.

Did you hear that they are making those round hay bails illegal? ... The animals aren't getting 3 square meals a day! haaaa :D :D :D Nice post

HAR HAR HAR!!! Good one....I'll be sure to use that with my neighbors!

Really like the outside kitchen. One of my friends built one for his mother and liked it so much he built his wife one, at least he says it's for his wife.

Yeah, its really a benefit in the heat of the summer. We don't have AC so doing our cooking and canning outside is a lot cooler in the heat. Especially in the shade.

Love the car with the hay bale. My truck is imobile at the moment so we got square bales in the suburban. My wife hates it, but the homestead must live to see another day, right?

You just have to make it happen somehow. The animals must eat!

You guys sure have some great buildings.

your hay meme is hilarious!

LOVE the outdoor kitchen! I'm jelly, but in a good way ;0)

I really like the outdoor kitchen, my grandmother always canned in the summer the same way.

I like that outdoor kitchen. I could use that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44