Pictures From An OFF GRID Homestead ~ Sugar Cane, Tomatoes and MORE!

I get a lot of requests for pictures. Most of my behind the scenes pictures go to our Patrons over at Patreon and after the Adpocolypse at Youtube, our Patrons are keeping us afloat at the channel. But I have a bunch of other photos and I think it might be fun to share them with you from time to time.

So here are a few photos from around the homestead over the past few months. Enjoy!

Me and Jaimie hold our first stalks of harvested Sugar Cane! It was So Good! THIS YEAR, we are going to grow a quarter acre of this stuff...YEAH!

mejaimie.jpg

One of many laundry baskets full of tomatoes coming out of the garden! Most of our tomatoes are made into spicy salsa. Last year we made over 100 jars of just salsa!

toms.jpg

One of my favorite spring time activities is finding these high dollar mushrooms. Back in the STL they pay around $75 a pound for these things. The reason is because they can't be cultivated and they taste AWESOME!
mushroompatr.jpg

The boys busy doing their homeschool work. We push our boys hard with school work. My oldest goes through more books in a week than most people do in 5 years. This year he's learning Hebrew and next year he starts German.

boys1.jpg

My oldest sitting on the tractor while I'm working the sawmill. Now we have a roof over the mill but my oldest still works the tractor anytime I'm cutting up logs.

joshuadad1.jpg

resteem.jpg

Sort:  

Good job!!!

Very nice! Followed and looking forward to future post :-)

Love those morels!

I only found a couple this year but have a little less than a pound of dehydrated in the freezer.

Nothing goes better with a nicely marbled steak than morels sauteed in butter and salt.

Well done on your homeschooling.

Yeah those morels are awesome! I only about about 2 dozen this year. My honeyspot didn't really produce.

I've hunted morels for over 50 years starting with my Dad when I was a kid.

Best advice I can give is oregonmushrooms dot com ;-)

Such a rewarding way to live - I commend your family on this lifestyle choice. SK.

HEY THANKS! Appreciated!

I'm hoping for tomatoes! It's pretty cold and short season in the UK for tomatoes [let alone sugar cane!]. To have that many tomatoes is wonderful!
The sugar cane is amazing! How do you process it?
I have two girls still home schooling too. :-)

We crush the cane to expel the juice inside and then boil the juice for hours to make it into a syrup. It taste great! We have some friends nearby who moved here from GB. Thanks for your comment!

My dd9 is asking can we plant a maple so she can tap it. Our old friends in Massachusetts [where we used to live long before she was born] are tapping and they bring the buckets in when we are skyping and tell us it is delicious before it is boiled down. We found her a carton of maple water in the health food shop in town ... but she wants her own maple!
Not sure we can grow and tap them in the UK. We have plenty of acers but I think the sugar maple is a different type right? I'm guessing you may know!
@mericanhomestead

Yeah, it will take some years before its big enough for tapping. I'm sure they will grow there but it's a long term wait.

Thank you so much for the inspiration! Do you need any helpers on your homestead?? lol

Very nice and great that the kids are learning new languages. I'm German born and still speak my home language though I've lived in Australia for 57 years, gosh I'm old.

I found you on YouTube first and really enjoy your videos and articles. Your family is an example to all of us that want to homestead.

since you mentioned stl do you mark brown of gateway garlic farms?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78