The Banded Sphinx – Eumorpha Fasciatus – original photos

in #photography8 years ago

The Decepticons are REAL

Banded Sphinx photo by Meredith Loughran

Well no… Actually it’s a fekkin’ huge moth!

Honestly, I didn’t think I had the nerve to get as close to it as I needed to in order to take decent pictures using my iPhone.

Banded Sphinx photo by Meredith Loughran

I could not believe how absolutely gorgeous it was. And as you will see, it had no problem staying perched on my screen as I took close-ups.

Banded Sphinx photo by Meredith Loughran

I never thought I was a bugs and critter kinda gal, but I’ve seen so many beautiful flora and fauna since I’ve moved to Florida that I cannot help searching them out.

Banded Sphinx photo by Meredith Loughran

And that’s my hand right next to it!

Thank goodness it didn’t move while I was taking the photos or I would have freaked out a little bit.

But I told it to just sit pretty and that I wasn't going to hurt it - so there it stayed.

And yes, I talk to animals, bugs, the weather, and my imaginary friends too.

• Pictures taken March, 2016 with my iPhone.


Eumorpha Fasciatus

Their habitat is generally in subtropical and tropical locations but their range is from Northern Argentina to southern California, then east toward Texas, Florida, Mississippi and South Carolina, however they have been found to stray as far north as Michigan, New York and Nova Scotia.

Their food mainly consists of flower nectar. [citation]

Beyond that, I have not really found a lot of information about the Banded Sphinx.


Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated. Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape


Request your own verification badge @ Steem.chat


Wall of Steemit love:

Name in peppers by @papa-pepperBeautiful art by @poeticsnake
Name in silver by @neoxian8bit avatar by @williambanks

Follow Meredith Loughran on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

very nice, great shot congratulations

actually a pretty decent picture for an i phone.

Thanks @joechez
I'm sure with photoshop I could do some retouching and sharpen it a bit, but then I think it would lose how soft and fuzzy the banded sphinx looks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53