Wonder where the cork in the wine bottle comes from?

in #photography7 years ago

I was fascinated by the cork oak trees and the cork harvest in Portugal. Although I had a vague idea that cork came from plants, until I visited there I had no idea how cork was harvested. Portugal produces approximately half of the world's cork.
The trees that it comes from are lovely.

image

image

The bark can only be removed every 9 years by law to protect the species. It doesn't harm the tree, and the cork bark regrows, so it is a sustainable crop. The year of harvest is marked on the trunk. This bark was stacked near the train tracks at Santa Clara a Velha, Alentejo, ready to be shipped.

image

image

image

Sort:  

I didn't know that at all about the cork that's so cool! Beautiful pictures Melinda😂

Melinda I see as promised you have found your Portugal photos! Great shots, video and story.

Sad to say but some wine in Portugal now has screw-tops! I've been told, but not sure I believe it entirely, that cork supplies are dwindling and some wineries are only using cork for the wines they export.

When drinking a glass, I haven't been able to tell the difference! But I do like the tradition of cork. It would be sad to loose that. I do have many more Portugal pictures.... I've spent most of my time along the coast and in the Alentejo.

If you have more great photos and stories like this one, go for it!

I have voted for you can you vote my comment please .. Thank you dear in advance

WOW this was so interesting i had no idea how cork was obtained either they are such cool looking trees and greta to see it is substainfully harvested

Thanks, J. I found it quite fascinating.

That is very interesting. Did you know cinnamon is similar in that it comes from trees but it's actually a layer between the bark and the wood. Not sure that it's bark regrows though.

Havesting cinnamon must be interesting, too. I hope it doesn't kill the trees.

That's true! What a wonderful post, Melinda! Portugal, my country! Cheers!

Glad you think I did it justice.... I do love Portugal!

Yes you did! Thanks!

Nice informative post Melinda and thanks for thee photos. I've read that the synthetic stoppers that they are starting to use give better results than the natural corks, less chance of spoilage and said to have a clearer flavor. If the corks are replaced you'll have a vintage history lesson prepared. ; )

Olá, @melinda010100
@gazetagaleguia ten o compromiso implicito de valorizar todo aquelo relacionado coa xeografía da galeguía ou lusofonía, e valorou teu post polo seu interese etnográfico e cultural para aparecer no post Os 10 Posts mais votados do Steemit en Portugues. 1 de Agosto 2017.
Upvoted
Obrigadas polas túas aportacións.

Son benvidas suxerencias e comentarios que nos axuden a mellorar a serie TOP 10.

Thank you for including my post! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54