🏛⚖️ South Dakota Capital Collected | 21 Photos

in #photography6 years ago

Visiting state capital buildings is a hobby of mine. I don’t know if I’ll ever see them all but I do make an effort to make my way to the ones I can. It was on the day that I went to South Dakota’s that I finished a long standing wish of mine to see all of the Lower 48 states of the US.

I’ll be sharing photos of the interior of the building over the coming days, so look for those to come.

Interiors: Upward Dome

The South Dakota Capital is a great stop for photographer. Definitely make the stop in Pierre if you get the opportunity. I’ll be posting a handful of pictures from my trip through last month.

Interiors: Rotunda

The views inside the rotunda of the South Dakota Capital building didn’t disappoint. Here are a few angles inside the space.

Wonderful symmetry and ornate design throughout. Have you ever visited your state capital?

Most are incredibly beautiful and very fish with history. I recommend making the trip if you. They are free to visit so it’s a cheap day trip to make.

This set of photos of photos below I like to refer to as “Corpus Callosum & Collective Unconscious”.


Idealized Self

There were 4 of these statues but I only took pictures of these two. I liked how they seemed to be in motion.

In the future I’d like to take more photos of people - starting with statues counts, right?

Stained Glass

You are a universe, bend light

This mural was in the one hall that stretches out from the rotunda with a grand staircase. Not sure of the official name but I like to call this photo “Spirits in the Hall”.

Murals: History & How It’s Made

This collection of murals lined both sides of a long hallways in the capital building that stretched out from the centrally located rotunda.









I really liked this series of paintings, hopefully you enjoyed all the pictures from the capital building.

Thanks for taking a look!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-14T18:00:51
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 867.10/1600.00
Total Photos: 131
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mdf-365
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=south-dakota-capital-collected-or-21-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #322. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Appreciate the selection - more videos in this series from Cuyahoga to come

I wish i would've seen this sooner! Scott and i collect counties and the county courthouses. It is so nice to know someone else has a similar hobby. There is something about those old buildings. Thanks so much for sharing these, now to go binge read your stuff!
Ren

Absolutely - great structures. I've always liked the classical forms

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16