The Beauty of Beluga Whales-The Georgia Aquarium

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I can't believe that the Georgia Aquarium has been open for over ten years.

I have a harder time even accepting that it's been ten years since I've been there.

I remember reading about the whale sharks and the huge tank.  So, at the time, I guess we were still newlyweds we traveled down to Atlanta and took in the aquarium.  This was before our house, and before we were parents.

I have a ton of pics from my trip there.  But I took some great ones of a beluga whale named Casper.  Casper was rescued from a substandard zoo in another country.  You can see the sores on her fins.

But she was so happy to be there that she smiled and interacted with the audience.  I have heard that she has since passed away.  But I was thankful to get these shots.  These were shot on my first digital SLR.  A Canon Rebel of some kind.  I don't even have the camera anymore.  Sold it on eBay at some point.

So I guess this post is a little about the beauty of ocean animals and the invisible speed of time.





This one maybe my favorite.  I remember calling it Ghostly Whales on Flicker.


Other Photography Posts of mine I think you will like:

Trip to Camden Yards-The Beauty of a baseball game

Virginia Aquarium-Lionfish

Sort:  

I live in Japan. Thank you for the very beautiful photo

I remember hitting up the Vancouver aquarium all the time as a little kid. What I wouldn't give to feel the same fascination of watching these friendly whales float around again.

Great post ●‿●, i can't swim. Photos are amazing.

Great pics. The last one is my fave too. We have nothing like that in my country. I imagine it's a pretty amazing experience getting up close with them.

love the smiles. that great thing about modern digital photograph- take as many pictures as you like as long as your memory card allows.

Gorgeous! I went to the Georgia Aquarium for the first time with my daughter and her friends last spring. You've inspired me to get my photos out! We can take turns inspiring each other! :D

@mctiller beautiful shots! Personally, Beluga whales are alien-look creatures (I don't deny their beauty though). I wonder why rescued dolphins and whales aren't released to the wildlife where they belong after they fully recover.

Cool photos!

welcome to my blog @alex2016

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62802.36
ETH 2462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62