When in Rome 2!

in #photography6 years ago

No doubt people who have studied a little history or even watched gladiator (movie) will know all about what the coliseum was about. Epic battle of grand scale involving the fiercest warriors and even the most dangerous animals. The opening games lasted for one hundred days and saw many animals being killed. It’s hard to relate to this sometimes because in today’s society this is of course largely unacceptable. However when I read into how the romans maintained the attitude of being the fierce leaders of the world, it did not surprise me to learn of some of these rituals.

There a great deal of hidden chambers that were actually used as the transport areas of combatants. Scenes of gladiator the movie were playing back in my head as I walked around. I wanted to shout out the famous words “Are you not entertained?”. It was a surreal feeling to visit the coliseum and it is certainly a place not to be missed by any.

Sort:  

The coliseum is something I definitely wanna visit some day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38