Borough Market London

in #photography6 years ago

Taking a trip to London requires that you visit one of it's most famous markets. That is of course, Borough markets which has been on my personal bucket list for quite some time now, even before I visited London. The market itself was established in 1885 and is amongst the most recognised markets in all of London, particularly for it's artisan food, as well as organic produce.

Originally, it was a market for the locals as all markets tend to be or begin as, but it's notoriety has attracted tourists from all around the world to come visit. Without a doubt it is a must visit for food lovers.

Even though most of the food is alienating to me, and not at all like the kinds of foods I would find in markets from where i'm from (China), I think it's a good opportunity to get to know London a little bit more.

The market is situated very close to The Shard skyscraper. Every time I see this building, I think how awkward it looks sticking out much taller than neighbouring buildings. London isn't a sky scraper kind of city and for the most part, most of the "taller" buildings in London would be considered just normal apartment building heights in most parts of China.

Some strange little tradition that I have no idea what the back story behind it is. Quite interesting never the less.

Actually a lot of the stalls here sell food which are not native to England. This is because for much of the last few centuries, the British were expanding their presence in colonies all over the world, today they are the commonwealth countries and they too have had a big influence on the food offerings in England.

As much as Scotland likes to proclaim themselves an independent state, they are not and they too have a presence in this market. Funnily enough the Malaysians have also managed to put up a food stall here, again, they were also once a part of the United Kingdom as well.

I'm not a huge drinking of beer, or cider for that matter, so this offering serves as just a pretty setup worthy of a picture.

For some reason, I always thought British food as mostly potatoes chips, and bread. Maybe some fried fish. I guess i'm not too far off.


There are many delicious things at the market and it will take several visits to really get to try all of them. Of all the markets in London, there are few with as much history and heritage as Borough market. I enjoyed my day even if I didn't try most of the foods. The place is atmospheric and a joy to visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83