Road Trip To Snowy Roan Mountain, Tennessee Part 2

in #photography6 years ago

My husband and I took a long drive in search of beautiful snow covered mountains. We ended up in Roan Mountain, TN where snow was plentiful and the views was lovely. It was extremely frigid outside but we enjoyed the ride and the ability to explore a town we've never visited before.

If you want to see part 1 of my photos click here

It was so cold and snowy the street signs were sometimes covered in ice and snow. Watch out for curvy roads!

IMG_1703.jpg

One thing I enjoyed about our drive was seeing mountain homes covered in snow. This area is known for it's beautiful landscapes which draws tourists to the town of Roan Mountain. People build houses with pretty colors and designs that look picturesque in the snow. Sometimes I'd love to live in these parts of the mountains but I don't think I could handle the amount of snow they get. Mountain snow is pretty but the temperatures are extremely cold. It's a wet cold which burns and is no fun to go outside in.

IMG_1705.jpg

Roan Mountain has an old fashioned feel to it. Most of the area businesses operate in old houses along one strip through the town like in the below picture. I love going to businesses in houses. They have a quaint feel to them and are so much nicer to go to than big corporate owned stores sometimes.
IMG_1677.JPG

A stone church

IMG_1702.jpg

I really love seeing bright colored houses. I once read back in olden days, in areas where people got a lot of snow, it was a trend to paint them bright colors. That way if someone got lost in a snowstorm the bright colors would help them be able to see houses and buildings. I'm not sure that's needed in modern times with interstates and highways but I appreciate that people paint their homes bright and out of the norm colors. A white house in the snow can be pretty but a bright green and blue house in the snow is a sight to see.
IMG_1704.jpg

IMG_1748.JPG

Another shot of this house about to be torn down.

IMG_1674.JPG
I assume when the weather gets better this house will be done for. Shame...It looks like was once a pretty place. I always wonder what kind of history houses like this have and how they ended up abandoned and in such bad shape.

My perfect house

IMG_1698.jpg
This last house is so pretty in the snow. If I had to build my perfect house it would be two stories with a rock or brick exterior and a nice front porch. Roan Mountain has some really pretty houses.

I still haven't shared our venture into Roan Mountain State Park and the great views of snowy mountains. Maybe another day!


Banner.png

Sort:  

That last house looks so pretty! Thank you foe share the second part of your road trip!

I know! I loved the last house. It was so pretty.

I am about donwe with the grey and cold but I can still say it can look so beautiful as it does in your shots here, that last house especially looks so charming

The snow does make some homes look so pretty. I love winter at times but this year in ways I'm ready for spring. This winter was colder than normal which stinks. Too many high heating bills...

Yes this was a rough winter I am so over it as well

Haha dear @marxrab
Truly beautiful photos of your wonderful and beautiful journey with your husband. Houses, snow, mountains, landscapes and discovering new countries. I wish you more enjoyment and be a long journey with your husband.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed all my photos.

I didn't even notice the huge piece of equipment by the run-down house in the last post. That looks pretty big! I'm kind of surprised the local fire department doesn't want to use it for practice. They do that here in Minnesota.

The stone church is kind of pretty. I wonder what it looks like inside.

The old house is on the main street of town. Maybe it's too close to area businesses to be useful for the fire department. I'd love to explore it. The church was even prettier in person. We have a ton of churches here in the bible belt but not all of them are this pretty.

Abandoned places are great for photography, but be careful if you explore. At least around here, many abandoned houses are unsafe for a variety of reasons. There is actually an abandoned insane asylum near here that I would absolutely love to take photos in... but not alone lol!

Spontaneous roadtrips are so much fun! It's amazing the things you discover when you're not on a schedule and have the time to just wander where you want to.

Looks like y'all had a fun time!

I know. Pre-baby we took tons of spontaneous trips. These days we don't have random moments so much. It was nice my daughter was tired and slept the entire drive.

Roan Mountain is seen to be a very nice place
and has very nice house with very striking colors
It would be comfortable to live in Roan Mountain despite the cold

It is a really nice place to travel. I love the homes there.

Twin Peaks. The only thing missing are giant Douglass Firs.

Definitely cool scenery.

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

Thank you! I love the poem. It's very perfect and sums up how I feel going out to enjoy the snow on drives. I've sneaked over the fence to my neighbors property in the woods (ignoring the no trespassing signs) just to see new views of the forest when it snows.

We got hit with another couple of inches overnight...Im so over it!

Send the snow my way! I'll gladly take it.

I really like your post friends and your post is very good I am glad to be able to join you thanks steemit friends good for sharing interesting things I can learn from you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52