Road Trip To Roan Mountain Tennessee To Find Forests Covered In Ice Part 1

in #photography7 years ago

Yesterday my husband and I decided to take a long drive. Our 16 month old feel asleep in her car seat after her visit to the pediatrician and we knew if we went home she'd wake up and be grumpy. We both knew that as long as we drove, she'd sleep peacefully. This was when we decided to go on an adventure!

We didn't get much snow where we live but in the far off distance we could both see snow capped mountains that looked beautiful. We decided to drive in the direction of the mountains in the hopes of seeing some pretty views. We ended up traveling pretty far into areas of Tennessee I've never visited before.

In the higher elevations it is cold enough that the snow clings to the trees covering them to make the entire tree appear white. I've never seen this in person but one of my relatives shared some pictures with me featuring this. My husband and I could see mountains that were a bright white and we knew if we drove far enough we would see these ice forests.

My relatives photo of the Tennessee mountains that inspired our trip

26230288_10208847720425176_7981348196627498077_n.jpg

See how the snow and ice covers everything to appear like an ice forest?

Snowy mountains in the distance as we started driving

IMG_1640.jpg

As we got into the mountains, the roads were more curved and the snow was beautiful to see.

IMG_1645 2.JPG

Getting closer to the mountains we were seeking

IMG_1642 2.JPG

Christmas Tree Farm Country

IMG_1651 2.jpg

This area had tons of Christmas tree farms. It was pretty neat to see mountain fields full of Christmas trees covered in snow. They even have a number of places where you can go to pick out the tree you want and cut it down yourself. Funny I've lived only a short time away from here almost my entire life and never knew there were Christmas tree farms nearby.

Roan Mountain, TN and Into North Carolina!

IMG_1654 2.jpg

We never intended to leave Tennessee when we started driving. We were surprised when we saw the welcome to North Carolina signs! As we drove we ended up in the town of Roan Mountain but as we continued to explore we drove right over the boarder to NC.

The sign for Roan Mountain, TN states they have a Rhododendron Festival every year. After some research I've decided we need to go to this. If we don't go the festival we need to visit the gardens full of flowers. If you like that sort of stuff here is a link to info about the Rhododendron gardens.

It started snowing as we reached Roan Mountain and passed more Christmas tree farms.

IMG_1664 2.JPG

Really neat mural on one of the buildings

IMG_1668.jpg

IMG_1666.jpg

I haven't seen a video store in years!

IMG_1669.jpg

They love their Christmas tree theme

IMG_1672.jpg

Moose statue

IMG_1688 2.jpg

This house is a goner

IMG_1675.jpg

The town of Roan Mountain was pretty neat. It was small and seemed very old fashioned. There weren't many big name stores and we passed lots of mom and pop local shops and restaurants. As we kept driving we ended up in North Carolina and the roads were horrible! I guess TN works harder to keep ice and snow off the roads because the NC roads were icy! We didn't go too far into NC because a Prius is not a snow vehicle.

We ended up turning around to seek out Roan Mountain National Park where we figured we could find ice forests and lots of pretty sights! Part 2 will come tomorrow...


Banner.png

Sort:  

@marxrab I love the mountains of Tennessee! Wonderfully covered with snow on the recent snow weather.

Some great scenery there! I would love to just drive all over the country and blog about it daily.

Great post @marxrab, thanks for taking us along on your improvised adventure. Looking forward to part 2!!!

Excellent place with such a beautiful scenery :))

Wow really a beautiful trip. Sometimes a human needs an enjoyable trip with his family. To get out of the work routine and home. I am following your fun journey. I hope to see more of them. Your photos are wonderful for your amazing tourist destination.
Enjoy this dear sister @marxrab
I wish you a journey full of happiness with your wonderful family

I love the landscape photos. They look... cold! And the video store... I haven't seen a video store in a long time! The last "Blockbuster Video" in Rochester disappeared in the early 00's.

I wonder what they're planning on doing with the house. It looks like it was a pretty nice one, once. i'd be afraid to enter, because it looks like it could fall down at any second among other reasons, but you could probably get some amazing "abandoned places" shots in there!

That first photo is gorgeous! I have those driving adventures often and I love them.

very beautiful
want to feel in touch with snow
but it seems impossible in our place (indonesia aceh) the snow does not go down. but I'm sure one day I'll be in touch with snow because it's my dream from small ... brilliant @marxrab top postings
may succes always

Awe! Thank you for take me there too! Great post! :)

Wow..... Beautiful.
Is this extremely your image.. I mean You took this shot...
mind blowing and extraordinary.
looking like such a good creation..!!
You are a genius artist.
Keep it up I want your bright future in photography.
I conjointly do photography. is also not therefore sensible such as you however I've such a lot interest on photography. I take shot virtually everything I see nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44