THE LIGHTNING THIEF

LRM_EXPORT_20180603_205530-01.jpeg

It was late in the evening when we decided to go outside to capture some night photo in the pier of Toledo City. The night was cold and the weather wasn't that good that time, but still we are so eager to try this Long-exposure-shot type of photography. I was hoping to capture a milky-way or a galaxy but sadly, there was no stars at all. However, we've decided to take advantage of the weather since we've noticed some lightning in the opposite Island. doubtfully, I wanted to capture one of the lightnings, so I gear myself up, took my camera and set it.

2018-06-04 07.28.08 2.jpg

I used Canon 1300d, it's Kit lens and a tripod. First off, I set the camera to manual mode, set the ISO to 100, the aperture to f22 and the shutter speed to 30s. Allow me to feel like a pro this time and explain the significance of the three. I set the ISO to its lowest so it's compensation to darkness wouldn't be that exposed since we'll be taking a long exposure shot. The aperture is set to fraction of 22 or 1/22 or simply f22. Aperture is a hole inside the lens that allows light to pass through, the wider the hole the more light will come in. I used f22 so there'll be lesser light my camera will absorb. Then the shutter speed or exposure time. Since capturing lightning is uncertain, I set my shutter speed to 30s. Shutter speed allows your camera to see whatever things shown to your frame within that given time. That's it for technicalities.

After setting up the camera I placed it on the tripod and ensure that it is parallel to the horizon. after some several trials and luckily, I was able to capture the lightning. I adjusted the colors and post processed it on Lightroom CC.

PhotoGrid_1528070995156-01.jpeg

@marklestersayson

Sort:  

If you donate 1 SBD or STEEM to @a-a-a I will resteem your last post to over 72,500 followers on my 2 accounts @a-a-a and @a-0-0

that would be great !

Congratulations @marklestersayson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75