My adventures in streetphotograhy #6

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This time my shots are from a trip to one of the "planned" outgrowths of the danish capitol, on the insel of Amager, the socalled Ørestad. This is a miscreate in my view and just shows you how central planning always turns society into crap. This does not come specifically out in the shots, that was not what I was going for - my point is rather that the only redeeming quality might actually be a weird kind of photogenic-ness.

DSCF1195.jpg

MY SHADOW
A cliché yes, but the cartoonish way the shape of my shadow is formed, on that rugged, yet strangely homogenous surface, gives it a peculiar aura.

One of the buildings in this area is called "The Figure Eight" since it is shaped, or rather "sculptured" like a deformed 8, as if it was an unfinished child play with Lego. There are large "cuts" in the building as if sliced of with a big knife and the surfaces are covered with grasses or heather.

DSCF1172.jpg

WEATHER WITH HEATHER
The shot is pointed upwards this sloping "knifecut" catching all the vents and pipes in random order upwards. A truly alien looking place and keeps you guessing "where could that be" (The title is a reference to a song by the danish band Sandmen)

Keep a lookout for children, and children playing. They are naturals and can create all sorts of weird scenarios. Cartier-Bresson used children extensively in his work. Sometimes their behavior create really abstract shapes.

DSCF1179.jpg
CRAWLER
I like this shot a lot .. it is so weird, with these randomely placed metal metal stands, the very long distance view that adds to the sense of space and solitude ... and then this kid doing an impossible (at least for me) crawling pose in one of them

--oo--

My adventures in Streetphotography:
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5

Sort:  

I did not like black and white photography at first.
But nowadays, it keeps snowing.
So your picture is true

Thank you

Nice photos. I thought your first photo was a selfie.... ;)

A shadow selfie :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39