My adventures in streetphotograhy #4

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

As a streetphotographer you have to loose your fear of getting in peoples faces with your camera. I used a big DSLR and this may not be the best solution if you want to stay unnoticed. But as I kept going on photo hikes, I got more and more bold and quick at shooting and then lower the camera and look preoccupied. People rarely notice anything and those who do, usually only look a bit dumbfounded,. Getting on with your hike solves most. The famous war-photographer Robert Kappa once said "If Your Pictures Aren't Good Enough, You're Not Close Enough"

I took heed of this advise and deliberately seeked out the most populated areas of Copenhagen and tried to get closer, so close that the expression of the subjects would eventually come forth. It is not my biggest interest this way of shooting, on the other hand you can get some really special shots, not otherwise possible, when you are just standing around "waiting" for the big moment. I remembered that I had seen my hero Cartier-Bresson jump around in a documentary, on tip-toes looking for the best angle or framing, so maybe a constant movement of myself would help see things better and get in the middle of it.

_MG_4205.jpg

RUNNING MAN
This guy, only in his underwear, wristwatch, keyring and runnings shoos, just came sprinting passed me. I just winged the shot and he made a very quick gesture at the exact moment I pointed my lense at him and pulled the trigger. Guess he likes the camera, which would not be a big surprise judging from his appearance

_MG_4139.jpg
BENCH
A safer and more predictable setup, that did not really work that well. I never liked flat backgrounds and lines that are parallel with the frames of the shot. Oblique angles are just more relaxing and artistic. Shooting against big walls in big rooms is not easy nor an interesting style

Diagonals are an overlooked aspect of streetphotography. Cartier-Bresson was a master of using this to great effect. My next shot takes advantage of this framing. There is clearly a diagonal line of objects of interest going from the lower left to the upper right. The clock above his head could have been more to the left to make it perfect, but still it is pretty good. And time is in a way watching him you could say. A spin off of the moment.

_MG_4140.jpg
WALKER
This is a bit better. The lines are tilted and this gives a more relaxing and appealing look. The depth of the shot adds to the notion that the elderly man is feeling somewhat lost. His body language clearly expresses this feeling to us

--oo--

My adventures in Streetphotography:
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3

Sort:  

That sprinting dude will sure make fine model for swimming trunks......Nice shot @mandibil

hehe .-)

Very good job, @mandibil.

Hovebanegården is the place! I really like the tilted last one.

Yup ... central station :-) ... thanks for the nice words .-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39