You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography Hacks: 5 Tips to Help You Take Sharper Landscape Photos

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Thanks a lot for sharing these tips. They sound so basic but very interesting to know as they defy most of what I thought. I am an amateur or more appropriately a feeling photographer who eventually forgot about my DSLR (collecting dust in the box for years now) when smartphones came out. So yes, the tripod is not a good start. I did not realize though that it makes a difference with the shots. The strap is another thing. I never cared about how it is attached to the camera and how I utilized it. I just let it hang over my nape and let the camera take care of its self.

Timer? I am a little impatient waiting just for few seconds. I use it with just what you said, selfie and group photos when I need to run and join the group.

Your image stabilization tip is the most "wow" thing for me among the five tips. When I decided on buying DSLR, I had high regards about image stabilizer and thought the camera I'll buy must have it. All along, I thought it should always be turned on to counter any shake specially with my hands. I wonder if even other professional photographers know that should not be the case.

I once thought about the hood but eventually shrugged it off and did not buy one. I heard it has an effect on the shots but being just a hobbyist of photography, I did not take it seriously.

Ahh, I think it is about time to dig my camera from the box and test my learnings from your post! Maybe not with the hood as I don't plan to buy one but at least with the first four tips. Thanks again for sharing them here!

Sort:  

Hey @macoolette, thanks for reading, it's nice to hear your perspective. I think many other people also left the heavy and cumbersome cameras behind once smartphone cameras started to become so capable :) It's worth noting that a mini tripod can still help get sharper photos on your phone, but a mini tripod for a phone is way easier to carry :)

I hope you get some great pictures if you dig the DSLR out :)

Yeah, maybe I can consider at least a mini-tripod for the phone. But your post reminded me of the DSLR so I really have to dig it up this weekend. I am crossing my fingers that it still works. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67