The Veczemju cliffs

in #photography6 years ago



Rocky seashore in Vidzeme, Latvia - The Veczemju cliffs


Shoreline of Latvia is over five hundred kilometers long. One of the things I love about it is its diversity - white sandy beaches, dunes, rocky beaches, red sandstone and so much more accompanied with tiny, peaceful fishing villages and lonely lighthouses. I sometimes dream about doing a bicycle tour down the shoreline to see all of it with my own eyes.

Today’s photography is from one amazing location in Vidzeme, the Veczemju cliffs which are the largest red sandstone outcrops that can be found in Latvia. They are part of the Northern Vidzeme Biosphere Reserve and have about 31 species of protected flora and fauna.

We were lucky to get there in time when sun was setting and sunlight hit the outcrops magically enhancing the red tones in them. Timing was especially perfect since all the people from local camping seemed to have gone to enjoy the dinner before full sunset, allowing me exclusive, almost people free access to the cliffs.

I had been here several times before as a kid, but this one special time comes to mind. The one time in 2005, 10th of January. It was day after the largest storm in history had hit Latvia and dad came to us kids with the line let's go storm hunting (yeah, yeah not the safest or sanest thing to do, but ey we are all still here). I think I have photographs from that day, so I will share them in separate post, but to get the idea, I now have better understanding how these outcrops, carvings and caves were created by the force of the sea.

Enjoy!































Song of the day: Fever Ray - Coconut

[source: the cliffs]  

Sort:  

Aww! This made me smile ear to ear. Thank you so much for that @mandelsage! I know how difficult this video commenting thing must be. I actually attempted your challenge, but deleted everything right after, because they were simply terrible and it is really not my expression.

Ah when I made those little hedgehogs I actually though about maybe doing a giveaway of some sort, just don't know how it would be possible.

I am still patiently waiting for that thing that needs to get done :)

((gasp!)) ... You deleted your attempt?? ... Get it back! lol... I really want to see it.
I know it is hard, but just try not force yourself through the first few attempts and then it gets easier (as I am now learning ;P).

Oh oh oh and I now just got an idea (independent from that one) concerning Lily the Hedgehog! ... Hmmm... Some thought must be thunk...

Nice photos, have you bought a new camera?

Thank you :)

It is the same one I've been using for the past year. Nothing fancy. Basically old, new (older model) Nikon DSLR with the most basic lens kit that came with it. Learning slowly how to get the better hang of it and improve my photography.

Maybe its the sun that gave it a new look. :P

Maybe, ahaha.

Isn't this the best summer in a while? How is it in Finland?

No its way too hot, first time I had to buy a fan. Should've just installed AC.

lol, yeah no AC here as well and they say it will be 34 degrees Celsius today. Turning into a puddle slowly.

Fantastic photographs! The landscape is incredible. It really invites you to put on your swimsuit and throw into the sea. I imagine you did it 🙂. I love that tree in the rock that seems to fall from one moment to another.

Aww. Yeah, I almost selfishly wished there wasn't a camping place right next to it and there wouldn't be so many people at times. Specially this fantastic summer we have here in Latvia so far :)

Oh that tree. Funny thing is, it is in one of the photographs we took back in 2005, day after the craziest storm we have ever experienced had hit. It survived the storm ^^

Hi m31. That is stunning scenery with the sunlight on the sand stone. Sand stone is not a hard rock so erosion must be fairly quick compared to other parts of the coast line. Latvia it seems has some hidden treasures.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee! ^^ It couldn't have been better day or time to be there it seems. Latvia indeed has many hidden treasures and I hope to share more of them here on Steem :)

I wish people would be more respectful with the sandstone however. Everyone wants to leave their mark there for some weird reason.

Absolutely stunning!! your photograph reach such level of art quality

I am glad you enjoyed it. The place was really stunning, had absolute blast there :)

This is amazing! Excellent series.

Oh how much I miss the coast!

Ah I can imagine. I had not gone to the coast myself for few years actually, just been busy with other things or no company go with, or just crappy weather and bad timing.

@m31 These are quite stunning. Am surprised Latvia is a Country I overlook for a possible future vacation. This is definitely mind changing

Thank you @gabriel90sson :) Latvia definitely is nice destination for nature lovers. Forests, lakes, rivers, sea, bogs and so, so much more. Also very interesting culture, traditions and history :)

Nice pics M :)

Thank you so much @howo! :) I'm really happy how they turned out. That place is so magical.

That's a legit little beach right there, super cool rock formations right there at the "cliffs" haha I kept waiting for some little creatures to peek their heads around a corner in there :)

Ahaha, yeah I can see that too and I was really fascinated with all the shapes, forms and colors in the sandstone.

Mmm Sandy Beach with natural rocky shade, nice. Does it work? Looks like there's a pile of wood in one of the holes? What a nice people free view...

I bet some people hide in the caves during the day from the heat and sun indeed. I guess either people placed the wood there or it was washed out by the sea.

It was nice people less time window, was not planned at all, but really nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75